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As my year as Chairman of the
Commission draws to a close and I
reflect on the happenings of this past
year, the Commission has again had a
banner year as our industry continues to
experience rapid changes.

By carefully scrutinizing the budget
over the past few years and implement-
ing changes that are not normally a part
of a state agency operation, we have
been able to reduce costs and improve
online services to licensees. We are
proud that a by-product of this effi-
ciency of our operations has resulted in
a license fee reduction of $10 per year
or $20 per license period.

For the past four months our online
license renewal rate has hovered in the
60% range. The online program offers
a convenience for licensees while at the
same time reduces staff processing
time. Credit for this increase is due in
large part to our online renewal lottery
in which your name is added once to the
lottery if you renew online, and two
times if you also print your license from

your location.
The lottery drawing will be held and

the lucky winner announced after the
contest ends on July 1, 2004. Watch our
web site for this announcement. An-
other lottery campaign will begin imme-
diately. Hopefully a lottery will be held
each month.

Another major change to be imple-
mented July 1, 2004, is our new As-
signed Agency option. This new law
will allow a real estate brokerage to
provide full services when representing
both the buyer and the seller in the same
real estate transaction. The old statute
allowed a single brokerage to represent
both the buyer and seller, with the writ-
ten consent of the parties, but required
that such dual representation be “lim-
ited.” Under the assigned agency op-
tion, the designated broker will still re-
main in a limited dual representation
position and cannot participate as an
assigned agent on her/his personal list-
ings.

This is strictly an “option” and is not
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mandated. It simply allows the broker-
age another tool to use in satisfying
specific situations of agency represen-
tation within the office. A brokerage
can adopt this option or continue to
operate in the same way it does now.

If you choose to use the Assigned
Agency option the brokerage must have
a written policy outlining how the client
confidential information will be secured,
and both the buyer and seller must give
written permission. This will require a
change in your current employment
agreements and purchase and sale
agreements.

Additionally, on July 1st all broker-
ages will be required to use the new
“Agency Law in Idaho” brochure (blue
brochure), which has several changes
including an explanation of the new
assigned agency law.�

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Late License Renewal Fee Increase

If you renewed your license late and practiced real estate, you may be in for
a big surprise, because the penalty fees have been raised. The following fee
schedule applies to the licensee AND the broker:

If your license was expired at least But Less than: Penalty Fine is
One Day One Month $150
One Month 3 Months $300
3 Months 6 Months $500
6 Months One Year $750
Over One Year License cannot be renewed
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Legislative Update
by Donna M. Jones, Executive Director

We were successful in the passage
of the Idaho Real Estate Commission
legislative package in the recent ses-
sion and those bills will become law on
July 1, 2004. Here is a recap of those
legislative changes:

SB 1240 Assigned Agency
This change in our agency law will

simply allow a broker to assign one
agent to represent the seller and an-
other agent to represent the buyer
when that office is handling an in-
house transaction.  Both the buyer and
seller must sign an agreement disclos-
ing they are aware of the assigned
agency policy.

Previously, when both buyer and
seller were clients of the same firm in
an in-house transaction, the licensees
representing them HAD TO act as
limited dual agents. Because they owed
the same duty to both of the firm’s
clients, the licensees had
to treat each other’s cli-
ents equally, and are pro-
hibited from advocating
the interests of one party
over the interests of the
other client.

With Assigned
Agency, the brokerage
now can assign a differ-
ent licensee to go to bat
for each client, avoiding the limitations
of dual agency.  For example, the
licensee assigned to represent the buyer
can advise his or her client that the
seller’s price is too high, or can recom-
mend buyer-favorable conditions be
included in the purchase and sales
agreement.

The designated broker cannot act as
an assigned agent, but has instead the
duty to supervise the assigned agents
and act as a limited dual agent in the
transaction.

Assigned Agency is optional, and
no brokerage is required to offer it.  If
a brokerage does offer assigned
agency, it must first develop an office
policy on agency that ensures that
client confidences are not compro-

mised.  No specific content is dictated.
The Commission will audit to see that
the brokerage has a written office
policy in place, but the policy’s con-
tents will not be scrutinized.

SB 1241 Housekeeping Bill (mi-
nor changes)

Our annual ‘Housekeeping’ bill is
designed to make minor law correc-

tions needed to clarify the
intent of the original law.
Those items in our 2004
bill are:

1.      54-2018(2)(a)
codifies existing rules to
statute to comply with the
new Continuing Education
(CE) certification that al-
lows licensees to use the
Commission’s online li-

censing system.
2. 54-2018(4)(d)(e) codifies exist-

ing rules into statute to comply with the
new Errors & Omissions  (E&O) and
continuing education certification pro-
cesses.

3. 54-2023(1) codifies that the
CE requirement effective July 1, 2003,
applies to an active license renewed
after that date and those changing
from inactive to active license status.

4. 54-2023(5)(f) allows instruc-
tors to get CE credit hours for the CE
course they teach.

5. 54-2026(2)(b) requires that
course providers designate an indi-
vidual in charge who is responsible for
the operation of the schools. It further

(continued on page 3)

See the newly
revised

“Agency Law
in Idaho”
brochure

on page 21.
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Pay Your E&O Premium On Time
by Cindy Rice Grissom, Rice Insurance Services Company, LLC

Frequently Asked Questions

Question: What needs to be in-
cluded in the transaction record for
rejected offers?
Answer: Under Idaho Code 54-

2049, Records Retention, the transac-
tion record needs to include an original
or true copy of the offer (marked “re-
jected” with the date) along with any
attachments or counter offers, a copy
of the seller representation agreement
if the brokerage is representing the
seller, and a copy of the buyer repre-
sentation agreement if the brokerage is
representing the buyer. If the broker-
age is representing both the buyer and
the seller, the file should include con-
sent to limited dual agency signed by
both the buyer and the seller, the file
should include consent to limited dual
agency signed by both parties either
included in the agency agreements or
as an attachment. The ledger sheet for
the rejected offer should be closed,
moved from the pending ledgers and
retained with the closed-out ledger
sheets.

Question:  What is the records
retention period?
Answer: Records retention is based

on the final event that occurs on the
transaction. Typically, this is when the
offer is rejected and the earnest money
has been returned to the buyer or when
the transaction fails and the earnest
money has been disbursed. Records
should be retained for three years after
the end of the year of the final event.
For example, if the transaction’s final
event occurs on July 1, 2004, the records
would need to be retained after De-
cember 31, 2007.

Question:  If an offer is rejected
or the transaction fails, and the buyer
asks that the earnest money be
held by the brokerage until the
buyer can find another property,
how should this be handled on the
ledger sheets?
Answer: Once a transaction is

“dead,” the first ledger sheet needs to
be closed out and the earnest money

tracked on a new ledger sheet. The
new ledger sheet is assigned a transac-
tion number and references the trans-
fer from the previous transaction num-
ber. The new ledger sheet should clearly
document that the funds are being held
until a new property can be found. As
soon as a new property has been iden-
tified, the name of the seller and the
property location are added to the new
ledger sheet.

Question:  If a licensee who has
been a part of a sales team is placing
his license on inactive status, do
the team’s business cards and yard
signs need to be changed?
Answer: Under Idaho Code 54-

2038(3), a designated broker cannot
allow anyone who is not properly li-
censed to represent that broker as a
sales associate. If the licensee is no
longer an actively licensed part of the
team, his name should not be included
on business cards, yard signs and any
other advertising for the brokerage.�

Idaho requires that all active licens-
ees carry and maintain errors and omis-
sions insurance. If you do not pay your
premium on time, the Commission may
place your license on inactive status.
There is another very important reason
to pay your premium in a timely manner.
You may lose a valuable feature of the
group program, prior acts coverage.

The group policy provides limited pro-
tection for past professional acts. Prior
acts coverage is determined by your
retroactive date. A claim involving your
past acts may be considered for cover-
age so long as the error, omission or
negligent act took place after your ret-
roactive date. Your retroactive date is
the date you first obtained errors and
omission coverage and have maintained
continuous coverage. It is very impor-
tant that you maintain continuous
coverage in order to preserve your
retroactive date.

Licensees who do not renew their

coverage on time may lose any previ-
ously established retroactive date.
Those licensees’ effective date will be
the date Rice Insurance Services Com-
pany, LLC (RISC), receives and ac-
cepts the premium. If you discover that
you have missed timely renewal, call
RISC immediately and see if you qualify
for reinstatement of your coverage back
to the inception of the policy period.
This will avoid a break in coverage and
loss of your retroactive date. Always
pay your premium on time to avoid
a break in coverage and protect your-
self from uncovered claims.

This information is for illustrative
purposes only and is not a contract.
It is intended to provide a general
overview of the products and ser-
vices offered. Only the policy can
provide the actual terms, coverages,
amounts, conditions and exclusions.
This program is only available in
Idaho.�

assures that individual must continue
to meet professional discipline and
criminal conduct qualifications or lose
certification.

6. 54-2033(2)(a) provides that
if an instructor fails to maintain pro-
fessional discipline and criminal con-
duct qualifications, the Commission
may withdraw or cancel the certifi-
cation.

SB 1242 Fine Monies Disposi-
tion

Crafted to alleviate any miscon-
ception that the Commission could
be tempted to use fine monies to fund
day-to-day operations. This bill re-
quires that any civil penalty fine mon-
ies collected by the Commission as a
result of any disciplinary action, in-
cluding the audit citation program,
are to be used exclusively to educate
real estate licensees. The intent of
this effort is to reduce potential li-
cense violations through real estate
licensee education. �

(Legislative from page 2)
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COMMISSION GUIDELINES

A few guidelines have recently been revised, and all are available on the Commission’s website.

Guideline #6 Guaranteed Sales Plans

(continued on page 5)

Commission Guidelines

1. Cancellation or Withdrawal of Listings (Rev. 7/00)
2. Out-of-state Real Estate Agents Acting in Idaho (Rev. 7/03)
3. Regular Employee Status Determination (Rev. 7/93)
4. (Reserved)
5. Disclosure of Transaction Fees When Required (Eff. 5/03)
6. Guaranteed Sales Plans (Rev. 1/04)
7. Guidelines for “Suspended” Brokers (Rev. 7/03)
8. Approved Escrow Holders (Rev. 7/03)
9. Terms under Which Rental or Lease Fees May Be Split with Nonlicensed

Persons (Rev. 7/03)
10. Splitting Fees with Nonlicensed Persons Prohibited (Rev. 7/00)
11. Offices with Similar Business Names Operating at the Same Address  (Rev.7/00)
12. Offering Incentives to Potential Buyers (Rev. 7/03)
13. Licensed Idaho Resident with Nonresident Broker  (Rev. 7/02)
14. Disputed Earnest Money  (Rev. 10/02)
15. Establishing Real Estate Trust Accounts  (Rev. 7/03)
16. (Reserved)
17. Use of Unlicensed Assistants and Office Staff (Rev. 1/02)
18. (Reserved)
19. Signatures and the Use of Counteroffer Forms (Rev. 7/00)
20. Nonagency  (Rev. 7/02)
21. Telephone Solicitation (Rev. 11/03)
22. Auctioneers of Real Estate (Rev.7/03)
23. (Reserved)
24. Licensees’ Personal Transactions to Be Conducted Through the Broker with

Whom He Is Licensed (Rev. 10/03)

1. A “guaranteed sales plan”
(GSP) is defined as a written agree-
ment between a broker and a seller
whereby the broker agrees to purchase
the seller’s property within a specified
period of time and at a specified price if
the property is not sold in accordance
with the terms of the listing or on other
terms acceptable to the seller.

2. A broker offering a GSP should
provide in writing to the prospective
seller all of the details of such plan.
These details should include the exact
price for which the property would be
purchased, the exact circumstances
under which the commitment to pur-
chase will be honored, and the reason(s)
for any difference between the listing
price and the price which the broker
agrees to pay.

3. No broker should offer any GSP
or enter into any GSP unless the broker
has adequate financial resources to

meet the commitment. A broker offer-
ing a GSP should, if requested, provide
to the seller a statement that the broker
has sufficient financial resources to
satisfy his/her commitment.

4. A broker offering a GSP should
give good market exposure to each
property covered by any such plan, and
shall present to the seller all offers
received for each property.

5. A GSP should include a provi-
sion clearly stating that the broker’s
obligation to purchase property is en-
forceable only at the option of the seller.

6. A broker offering a GSP is free
to advertise and promote the plan as a
service of the broker available to sellers
who qualify. However, a broker may
NOT advertise the plan in a manner
which is likely to mislead the seller to
believe that the plan is available without
restriction, unless the plan is indeed
available without restriction. The bro-

ker who advertises a GSP should, prior
to taking any listing, advise the seller
whether the seller qualifies for the plan,
and if so, explain any restrictions or
conditions that apply to the seller. The
broker is advised to obtain a written
confirmation from the seller that the
terms of the GSP have been explained,
and that the seller understands that he
does/does not qualify for the plan.

7. Brokers may NOT use a GSP
as a false inducement to sign a listing
agreement. Idaho law protects con-
sumers by prohibiting misleading ad-
vertising. A broker advertising a GSP,
or any other product or service, should
be familiar with the state laws protect-
ing consumers from unfair and mislead-
ing advertising, namely, section 54-
2053(4) of the Idaho Real Estate Li-
cense Law, and the Attorney General’s
Rules of Consumer Protection.  Ex-
cerpts from these advertising laws are
set forth below.

Idaho Real Estate License Law.
Section 54-2053(4) of the Real Es-

tate License Law provides:
No advertising shall provide any in-

formation to the public or to prospective
customers or clients which is mislead-
ing in nature. Information is misleading
if, when taken as a whole, there is a
distinct probability that such informa-
tion will deceive the persons whom it is
intended to influence.

Idaho Rules of Consumer Pro-
tection:

The Attorney General’s Office has
promulgated comprehensive Rules of
Consumer Protection. Although many
of the Rules deal with specific products
(e.g., automobiles), there are some gen-
eral rules defining and prohibiting unfair
and deceptive practices, including “bait
and switch” practices.

Violations of the Rules of Consumer
Protection are pursued by the Office
of Attorney General; however, those
Rules may provide useful guidance to
the Commission in determining whether
a particular advertising practice is “mis-
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(Guidelines from page 4)

leading” within the meaning of the Li-
cense Law.

Subchapter E, Rule 50, of the Con-
sumer Protection Rules states that it “It
is an unfair and deceptive act or prac-
tice for a seller to engage in bait-and-
switch sales tactics.” “Bait and switch”
is defined to mean:

Advertising goods or services with
the intent not to sell them but to lure the
consumer to the seller’s place of busi-
ness and then switch the consumer
from buying the advertised goods or
services to other or different goods or
services on a basis more advantageous
to the seller.

The Rules regarding “bait and switch”
further provide:

051. INITIAL OFFER (Rule 51).
It is an unfair and deceptive act or

practice for a seller to create a false
impression of the grade, quality, quan-
tity, make, value, age, size, color, usabil-
ity, availability, or origin of the goods or
services offered, or which may other-
wise misrepresent the goods or ser-
vices in such a manner that later, on
disclosure of the true facts, there is a
likelihood that the consumer may be
switched from the advertised goods or
services to other goods or services.
Even though the true facts are subse-
quently made known to the consumer,
Subchapter E is violated if the first
contact or interview is secured by a
bait-and-switch offer.

052. DISCOURAGEMENT OF
PURCHASE OF ADVERTISED
MERCHANDISE (Rule 52).

It is an unfair and deceptive act or
practice for a seller to discourage the
purchase of the advertised goods or
services as part of a bait-and-switch
scheme to sell other goods or services.
For example, among acts or practices
which will be considered in determining
if an advertisement is a bona fide offer
are:

01. Refusal To Show. The refusal
to reasonably show, demonstrate, or
sell the goods or services advertised or
otherwise offered in accordance with
the terms of the initial offer.

02. Disparagement. The dispar-
agement by acts or words of the adver-
tised goods or services or disparage-
ment with respect to the guarantee,
credit terms, availability of service, re-
pairs, or parts, or in any other respect, in
connection with the advertised goods or
services.

03. Availability. The failure to have
available at all outlets listed in the ad-
vertisement a sufficient quantity of the
advertised goods or services to meet
reasonably expected public demand, as
defined in CPR 103, unless the adver-
tisement clearly and conspicuously dis-
closes that the supply of a particular
good is limited and/or the goods or
services are available only at desig-
nated outlets, or unless the advertise-
ment discloses that a particular good is
to be closed out or offered for a limited
time. Issuing of “rain checks” of goods
or offering comparable or better goods
at the sale price will be considered a
mitigating circumstance, unless there is
a pattern of inadequate inventory or the
inadequate inventory was intentional.

04. Refusal To Take Orders. The
refusal to take orders for the advertised
goods or services to be delivered within
a reasonable period of time.

05. Showing Impractical Goods
Or Services. The showing or demon-
strating of goods or services which are
defective, unusable, or impractical for
the purpose represented or implied in
the advertisement.

06. Compensation Plans. The use
of a sales plan or method of compensa-
tion for salesmen which is designed to
prevent or discourage them from selling
the advertised goods or services. This
does not prohibit compensating sales-
men by use of a commission.

053. SWITCH AFTER SALE
(Rule 53).

In the event of a sale of the adver-
tised goods or services, it is an unfair
and deceptive act or practice for a
seller to attempt to “unsell” the adver-
tised goods or services with the intent
and purpose of selling other goods or
services in their stead, except when the
parties are bargaining for a bona fide
trade-in.

054. PATTERN OF CONDUCT
(Rule 54).

The fact that a seller occasionally
sells the advertised goods or services at
the advertised price shall not constitute
a defense to a charge that the seller has
engaged in bait-and-switch tactics.

055. LEADER ITEMS (Rule 55).
Nothing in Subchapter E shall pre-

vent a seller from advertising goods and
services with the hope that consumers
will buy goods or services in addition to
those advertised.�

How Do You Rate? QUIZ Yourself!

Test yourself on some of the common questions received at the Commission office!

1. _______ TRUE  or FALSE
I must complete a total of 20 hours of
approved continuing education in order
to renew my active license this month.

2. _______ TRUE or FALSE
Licensees must complete continuing
education  in order to renew their inac-
tive license.

3. _______ TRUE or FALSE
Commercial transactions are exempt
from the requirement of providing the
blue brochure (Agency Law in Idaho).

4. _______ TRUE or FALSE
Every real estate office must offer the
new Assigned Agency Representation
option to consumers.

5. _______ TRUE or FALSE
I can offer (and subsequently give) my
unlicensed personal assistant a referral
fee for directing her brother to me to
purchase a condo.

(Answers on page 23)
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New Fingerprint

Requirements

EFFECTIVE MARCH 1, 2004

by Neal Bernklau, Licensing Supervisor

Idaho Code Section 54-2012(h) and
54-2012(c) requires that an applicant
for a new salesperson or broker li-
cense submit a completed fingerprint
card and receive fingerprint clear-
ance from the Commission office
prior to applying for licensure.

The Commission will forward all
completed fingerprint cards to the
Idaho Department of Law Enforce-
ment who will perform a state screen-
ing. They  will then forward the fin-
gerprint card to the Federal Bureau
of Investigation (FBI) in Washington,
D.C. The FBI will process a national
screening and return the fingerprint
card and/or report to the Commission
for review.

The Commission will review the
results and send a letter of approval to
those whose fingerprints have been
cleared by the FBI. This entire pro-
cess takes 4-6 weeks to complete.

Once the applicant receives a clear-
ance letter from the Commission, he/
she may apply for licensure. Finger-
print results are valid for 6 months
from the date released by the FBI.

Those candidates who have had a
past felony conviction must request
an exemption review when submit-
ting the fingerprint card and process-
ing fee to the Commission office. The
exemption review will be conducted
after the FBI returns the results.

If the fingerprints are unreadable
due to smudges, etc., a new finger-
print card will need to be submitted. A
new processing fee will not be re-
quired at this time. An applicant may
submit an affidavit certifying he has
not committed any criminal acts, along
with a license application.

If you have any questions regard-
ing the fingerprint requirements, please
contact Neal Bernklau, Licensing Su-
pervisor, at 208-334-3285 ext. 227.�

Self-Certification of CE
by Jill Randall, Education Director

Self Certification
If you have renewed your license

lately, you probably noticed several
changes. Perhaps you were able to
renew online; perhaps you mailed in
your renewal. Regardless, you should
have noticed the self-certification of
continuing education statement that you
signed.

Since March 1, 2004, licensees only
have to attest that they have completed
their required continuing education
rather than listing the complete course
information on the renewal form. This
has streamlined the renewal process
significantly, making it easier for the
licensee to complete and faster for the
Commission staff to process.

One of the drawbacks of going to this
type of process though is that the Com-
mission is no longer able to address
continuing education deficiencies be-
fore the licensee renews. Where we
used to be able to contact the licensee
who did not list enough education hours
so that he or she could meet the require-

ment before the license actually ex-
pired, now we do not see that informa-
tion and it truly is left up to you to ensure
that you are completing the require-
ment as expected.

CE Auditing
With the self-certification of continu-

ing education at renewal time comes
the unfortunate business of “auditing”.
To require copies of the course certifi-
cates at renewal time for every re-
newal would require additional staff to
review education records for every re-
newal, whereas the current audit pro-
cess is just a small sampling of renewals
to ensure compliance. The audit pro-
gram also provides us valuable insight
for improving the entire program.

To date, the audits average 92%
in compliance. The other 8% were
turned over to the Enforcement De-
partment with results ranging from a
“Staff Letter of Reprimand” to “Formal
Reprimands” with civil fines, costs and
attorney’s fees.

MORE CONTINUING EDUCATION OPTIONS

Challenging an Exam
by Jill Randall, Education Director

My last article in the January 2004
issue described the very popular op-
tions of “automatic approval” for CE
courses, including national real estate
professional designation courses. For
information on specific designations
offered by the National Association of
REALTORS and its Institutes, Soci-
eties & Councils, check out
www.realtor.org/edmatrix where you
can search by topic, organization, or
designation and receive course descrip-
tions and other important information.

Another option available to licensees
for meeting the CE requirement is to
“challenge an exam”. The law allows
for licensees to take an exam and re-

ceive course credit, rather than sitting in
a classroom. No other “challenge ex-
ams” are allowed except for:
♦ CE Core Course
♦ Real Estate Law
♦ Brokerage Management
♦ Real Estate Finance
♦ Valuation & Analysis
There are many more options avail-

able for meeting the continuing educa-
tion requirements, including many dis-
tance learning opportunities. For more
information, check out the
Commission’s website course sched-
ule. If you have any questions about
continuing education, please contact the
Commission office. �
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Sales Prelicense
Real estate education is required for a salesperson’s license. This 90-hour course is designed for the beginner in real estate
who has little previous knowledge in the field. Completion of both modules, in order, will satisfy the educational require-
ments for a salesperson’s license.  Specific information concerning education requirements for licensure can be found in the
Idaho Real Estate License Manual. To register for a course, contact the provider.

Sales Prelicense Module I (45 hours)

Dates Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor
Correspondence (FIN C201 Fund. of RE) 208-885-6641 Uof I/ISO $300 Loegering
Correspondence (RE305x 3 credit) 509-335-3557 WSU $495 Crellin
Online (Real Estate & Urban Economics) 307-766-4199 UofWy $420 Sunderman
July 5-17 6pm 208-234-4357 PRES/Pocatello $320 Johnston
July 6-9, 12-13 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
July 6-21 8am 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Jonas
July 7-9, 12-14 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
July 7-15 8am 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
July 12-23 8am 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Townsend
July 20-Aug. 4 5:30pm 208-524-3000 EOI/Boise $325 Learned
July 26-Sept. 11 6pm 208-3343285 Pioneer/Boise $275 TBA
Aug. 2-6, 9 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Aug. 4-6, 9-11 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Aug. 23-Oct. 18 6:30pm 208-426-1897 BSU/Boise $275 Jonas
Aug. 24-Oct. 19 6:30pm 208-426-1897 BSU/Nampa $275 Jonas
Aug. 26-Dec. 16 6pm 208-426-3356 BSU/Boise $500 Loegering
Aug. 30-Sept. 14 5:30pm 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Learned
Sept. 7-10, 13-14 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Sept. 7-16 8am 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
Sept. 8-10, 13-15 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Sept. 9-10, 16-18 8am 208-524-3000 EITC/Idaho Falls $275 Clifton
Sept. 13-Oct. 20 6pm 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 TBA
Sept. 15-17, 22-23 8am 208-792-2442 LCSC/Lewiston TBA Aubertin
Oct. 4-8, 11 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Oct. 6-8, 11-13 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Nov. 1-Dec. 13 6pm 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 TBA
Nov. 1-5, 8 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Nov. 3-5, 8-10 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Nov. 10-19 8am 208-377-9247 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
Nov. 29-Dec. 6 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Dec. 1-3, 6-8 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist

Sales Prelicense Module II (45 hours)

Dates Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor
July 6-21 5:30pm 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Jonas
July 12-Aug. 19 6:30pm 208-426-1897 BSU/Nampa $275 Jonas
July 14-16 8pm 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
July 15-16, 19-22 8pm 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
July 20-28 9am 208-234-4357 PRES/Pocatello $320 Johnston
July 26-Aug. 6 8am 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Townsend
Aug. 2-11 8am 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
Aug. 9-24 5:30pm 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Learned
Aug. 10-13, 16-17 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Aug. 12-13, 16-19 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Sept. 14-Oct. 21 6pm 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 TBA
Sept. 15-17, 20-22 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Sept. 16-17, 20-23 8am 208-377-9247 AREC/Boise $275 Heist
Sept. 20-Oct. 5 5:30pm 208-327-0768 EOI/Boise $325 Learned
Sept. 20, Oct. 1-2, 7-9 8am 208-524-3000 EITCIdaho Falls $275 Clifton
Sept. 29-30, Oct. 1, 6-8 8am 208-792-2442 LCSCLewiston TBA Aubertin
Oct. 7-15 8am 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
Oct. 12-15, 18-19 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Oct. 20-Dec. 15 6:30pm 208-426-1897 BSU/Boise $275 Jonas
Oct. 26-Dec. 18 6:30pm 208-426-1897 BSU/Nampa $275 Jonas
Nov. 2-Dec. 14 6pm 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 TBA
Nov. 9-12, 15-16 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers
Dec. 3-10 8am 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $265 Hatch
Dec. 7-10, 13-14 8am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $275 Byers

Course Schedules   July-December  2004
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Broker Courses
Four additional courses of at least 90 hours of advanced approved real estate education is required for a broker’s

license. Specific information concerning educational requirements for licensure can be found in the Idaho Real Estate

License Manual. These courses are also approved for elective continuing education credit. To register for a course,

contact the provider.

Brokerage Management (30 hours)
Required course for broker’s license. Intended to help a person understand how to set up and run a real estate brokerage

office and emphasizes the application of management techniques required for the brokerage operation.

Date Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor

Sept. 28-30, Oct. 1 8:00am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $250 Jonas, D.

Finance (30-45 hours)
Elective course for a broker’s license. Designed as an introduction to real estate financing and includes a study of the

sources and application of funds, the financial instruments commonly used, institutional structures and policies, and loan

processing. Each student must be familiar with a financial calculator prior to enrolling.

Date Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor

Correspondence (BUS C262) 208-885-6641 UofI-ISO $300 Hatch

Nov. 17-20 8:00am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $250 Clifton, M.

Law (30-45 hours)
Required course for broker’s license. Designed for the real estate professional as a course in the general principles of

law governing the interest in real estate, and to acquaint the student with how the law works, but is not intended to be a

substitute for competent legal counsel.

Date Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor

Correspondence (BUS 263) 208-885-6641 UofI-ISO $300 Felton

Aug. 30-31, Sept. 1-2 8:00am 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $295 May, Justin

Valuation and Analysis (30-45 hours)
Elective course for a broker’s license. An introductory course covering the purpose of appraisals, the appraisal process

and the different approaches, methods, and techniques used to determine the value of various types of property.

Date Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor

Sept. 17-18, 24-25 8:00am 208-524-3000 EITC/Idaho Falls$250.00 Morrison, R.

Sept. 23-24, 30, Oct. 1 8:00am 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $300 Nelson, B.

Other Courses
Business Conduct & Office Operations (4 hours)
Designed for brokers, sales associates, secretaries, bookkeepers, and other related personnel, this course acquaints them

with the current laws, rules and procedures governing the handling of client funds, brings participants up-to-date on

changes in the laws, rules and procedures governing the handling of client funds, and assists real estate firms in develop-

ing good record keeping and business practices. This course is approved for elective continuing education credit.

Date Time Phone # Provider/Location Cost Instructor

Correspondence n/a 208-334-3285 IREC $20 Staff

July 21 8:30am-12:30pm 208-334-3285 IREC/Driggs $20 Mesaros

August 27 8:30am-12:30pm 208-334-3285 IREC/Pocatello $20 Mesaros

September 23 8:30am-12:30pm 208-334-3285 IREC/Sun Valley $20 Mesaros

October 22 8:30am-12:30pm 208-334-3285 IREC/Grangeville $20 Mesaros

December 3 8:30am-12:30pm 208-334-3285 IREC/Nampa $20 Mesaros

It is highly recommended that you complete the CE Core course each year!
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Continuing Education
These courses are intended to keep the licensee abreast of changes in the real estate profession. For complete CE require-
ments, visit our website at www.idahorealestatecommission.com.  To register for a course, contact the provider.

Name Apprvl # Hrs Date Phone # Provider/City Cost Instrct
ADA & Fair Housing E0030 4 online 800-532-7649 CWS $45 LaMere
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 corresp. 208-334-3285 IREC $20 Staff
Buyer Representation in Real Estate E0060 6 online 206-523-9801 CEOO $45 Myers
Consensual Dual Agency E0032 4 online 800-532-7649 CWS $45 LaMere
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 video/audio 208-334-3285 IREC $15 Staff
Ethics and Real Estate E0028 4 online 800-532-7649 CWS $45 LaMere
Ethics and Real Estate E0061 6 online 206-523-9801 CEOO $45 Myers
Real Estate Finance (BUS C262) FI001S 30 corresp. 877-464-3246 U of I ISO $300 Hatch
Real Estate Law (BUS 263) LW001S 30 corresp. 877-464-3246 U of I ISO $300 Felton
Real Estate Math E0031 4 online 800-532-7649 CWS $45 LaMere
Tax Free Exchanges E0029 4 online 800-532-7649 CWS $45 LaMere
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 July 8 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $50 Clifton
Cracking the Code E0034 4 July 8 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $50 Clifton
Real Estate Broker/Salesperson Liabilities E0057 4 July 9 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $50 Albi
Title Insurance and Closing Issues E0097 4 July 9 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $50 Albi
Americans with Disabilities & RE Practices E0076 4 July 14 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 July 14 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Real Estate Agent Tax Topics E0109 2 July 14 208-323-4118 JLS/Boise $ Cornell
Commission Meeting CM001S 3 July 14-15 208-334-3285 IREC/Boise $0 Various
Real Estate Broker/Salesperson Liabilities E0057 4 July 15 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 July 21 208-334-3285 IREC/Driggs $20 Mesaros
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 July 22 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
Real Estate Agent Tax Topics E0109 2 July 22 208-323-4118 JLS/Boise $ Cornell
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 July 23 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 July 29 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Cracking the Code E0034 4 July 30 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Environmental Issues & Real Estate Practice E0071 4 Aug. 10 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Aug. 10 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
Title Insurance and Closing Issues E0097 4 Aug. 11 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Aug. 14 208-234-4357 PRES/Pocatello $50 Johnston
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 Aug. 18 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Aug. 19 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Aug. 26 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 Aug. 27 208-334-3285 IREC/Pocatello $20 Mesaros
Cracking the Code E0034 4 Aug. 27 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Real Estate Law LW001S 30 Aug.30-Sept.2 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $295 May
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Sept. 8 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Understanding & Using Real Estate Contracts E0066 4 Sept. 8 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Title Insurance and Closing Issues E0097 4 Sept. 10 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Valuation & Analysis VA001S 30 Sept. 17-25 208-524-3000 EITC/Id Falls $250 Morrison
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Sept. 20 208-769-3444 NIC/Sandpoint $39 Hatch
Fair Housing, ADA, & Real Estate Agents E0067 4 Sept. 20 208-769-3444 NIC/Sandpoint $39 Hatch
Americans with Disabilities & RE Practices E0076 4 Sept. 21 208-769-3444 NIC/Sandpoint $39 Hatch
Valuation & Analysis VA001S 30 Sept. 23-Oct.1 208-342-3585 IAR/Ketchum $300 Nelson
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 Sept. 23 208-334-3285 IREC/Sun Valley$20 Mesaros
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 Sept. 23 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Sept. 24 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
Cracking the Code E0034 4 Sept. 24 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Brokerage Management BM001S 30 Sept.28-Oct.1 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $250 Jonas
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Sept. 30 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Rookie REALTOR E0101 16 Oct. 14-15 208-342-3585 IAR/Twin Falls$125 Mai
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Oct. 15 208-234-4357 PRES/Pocatello $50 Johnston
Understanding & Using Real Estate Contracts E0066 4 Oct. 15 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
IRC Section 1031 Tax Deferred Exchanges E0104 4 Oct. 15 208-234-4357 PRES/Pocatello $50 Hamilton

(continued on page 10)
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Continuing Education Courses (Continued)

Name Apprvl# Hrs Dates Phone# Provider/City Cost Instrctr

CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Oct. 15 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Real Estate Broker/Salesperson Liabilities E0057 4 Oct. 16 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 Oct. 20 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Oct. 21 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 Oct. 22 208-334-3285 IREC/Grangeville $20 Mesaros
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Oct. 28 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Cracking the Code E0034 4 Oct. 29 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Nov. 12 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
Americans with Disabilities & RE Practices E0076 4 Nov. 12 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
Environmental Issues & Real Estate Practice E0071 4 Nov. 13 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Hatch
Real Estate Finance FI001S 30 Nov. 17-20 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $250 Clifton
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 Nov. 22 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Nov. 23 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Nov. 25 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Cracking the Code E0034 4 Nov. 26 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Business Conduct & Office Operations BC001S 4 Dec. 3 208-334-3285 IREC/Nampa $20 Mesaros
Rookie REALTOR E0101 16 Dec. 9-10 208-342-3585 IAR/Nampa $125 Hanson
Commercial Real Estate-ListingProperties E0080 8 Dec. 15 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $65 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Dec. 16 208-377-4300 Pioneer/Boise $45 Byers
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Dec. 16 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Title Insurance and Closing Issues E0097 4 Dec. 16 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
Real Estate Broker/Salesperson Liabilities E0057 4 Dec. 17 208-769-3444 NIC/Post Falls $39 Albi
CE CORE 2004 C2004 4 Dec. 30 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney
Cracking the Code E0034 4 Dec. 31 208-376-0363 PRES/Boise $45 Mooney

Overview of 2004 Core Course

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2004-JUNE 30, 2005

Real Estate Hot Topics
♦ Environmental Issues
♦ Telephone Solicitation
♦ Advertising “Hot Topics”
♦ Americans With Disabilities Act
♦ Licensee’s Personal Transactions
♦ Antitrust

Real Estate Case Law
♦ Encumbrances–Division For Me-

chanics/Materialman’s Liens
♦ Government Controls–Spot Zoning
♦ Easements–Interference With

Easement
♦ Water Rights–Littoral Rights-Navi-

gation Permits, Easements & Inter-
ference With Easements

♦ Contracts–Remedies, Specific Per-
formance, Statute Of Frauds, Legal
Descriptions, Brokerage Represen-
tation Agreement, Attorney’s Fees,
Commercial Transaction

♦ Common Law Dedication
♦ Adverse Possession–Payment of

Taxes

Legislative Changes
Simple Bills And Minor Changes
♦ HB 484–Basis Of Bearing Require-

ment
♦ HB 506–Property Tax Appeals
♦ HB 510–State Mineral Lands; Min-

eral Rights
♦ HB 516–Property Tax Relief, Pro-

cedures
♦ HB 523–Residential Mortgage, Fed-

eral Conformance Updates
♦ HB 539aas–Electric Services, Miti-

gation Costs
♦ HB 633–Water Rights, Forfeiture

Exemptions
♦ HB 634–Irrigation, Rights-Of-Way

& Adverse Possession Protection
♦ HB 649–Occupancy Tax, Manu-

factures Housing
♦ HB 739–Property Tax, Home own-

ers Exemption
♦ HB 745–Water, Irrigation Canals

& Diverted Water
♦ HB 755–Mineral Rights, Rejoining

Severed Rights
♦ HB 756–Idaho Building Code Act
♦ HB 1241–Real Estate Brokers, Con-

tinuing Education & Instructors
♦ SB 1242–Real Estate Brokerage,

Civil Penalty Fine Disposition
♦ SB 1246–Uniform Estate Tax Ap-

portionment Act
♦ SB 1248–Uniform Probate Code
♦ SB 1250–Estates, Homestead Al-

lowance Determinations
♦ SB 1251–Estates, Time Limits On

Presentation Of Claims
♦ SB 1303–Probates, Filing Of Claims
♦ SB 1304–Homestead Rights, Lim-

its Of Liability

More Involved Changes & New Laws
♦ SB 1240–Real Estate Brokerages

– Assigned Agency
♦ SB 1389–Residential Mortgage

Practices �
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Supply Order Form 
 
 

 

 

Purchase Information 
Real Estate publications that are listed as “free” can be ordered by 
mail, fax, phone, e-mail, or in person.  Publications requiring 
payment must be ordered by mail or in person. Here’s how to 
order: 
 
• By Mail: Mail the completed form with the proper fee. 
• By Fax: For free publications ONLY, fax the completed 
form to 208-334-2050. 

• By Phone: For free publications ONLY, call our library at 
208-334-3285 ext. 223 or 866-447-5411 ext. 223 toll free 
within Idaho. 

• By e-mail: For free publications ONLY, e-mail 
jhumphre@irec.state.id.us 

• In Person: Bring this completed form to 633 N. 4th St., 
Boise. 

 
Acceptable Payment Methods: 
• Personal Check 
• Cashier’s Check 
• Money Order 
• Cash (in person and only for exact amount) 

Make checks payable to:  
Idaho Real Estate Commission (IREC) 
Attn: Library 
P.O. Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720-0077 

 
Miscellaneous Information 

• Prices are subject to change 
• Orders received without sufficient payment will be returned 
• All sales are final 
• Allow 2-4 weeks for delivery 
• Most publications & materials are available to download 
from the Commission’s website at 
www.idahorealestatecommission.com 

 
Refund Policy 
 Because of rising costs associated with issuing a refund, it is 
the policy of the Idaho Real Estate Commission to refund 
overpayments of under $25 only if requested in writing within 30 
days of the Commission’s receipt of the overpayment.   
 Overpayments of $25 or more will be automatically refunded 
to the licensee. There will be a $15 fee assessed for each check 
returned to the Commission for insufficient funds 
 

PART A: Material Requested Cost Quantity Subtotal 

2004 License Law & Rules Book $1.88   

1-4 pkg $5.94ea   
5-9 pkg $4.46ea   

Agency Law In Idaho Brochure (25/pkg) 
Revised Effective July 2004 

  Spanish 
  English 

10+ pkg $2.97ea   
Business Conduct & Office Operations correspondence course (No tax) $20.00   
Buyer Brokerage 4-hr elective outline (does NOT include exam) $4.70   

VHS $60.00   
Audio Tape $60.00   
Audio CD $60.00   
Video DVD $60.00   

C2004 Continuing Education Core tape purchase.  
(Includes 1 copy of outline, but does NOT include exam) 

Outline $4.72   
Candidate Handbook Free   
Consumer Brochure Free   
Guidelines: Guideline number/title        Free   
Investigative & Hearing Process Brochure Free   
License Manual Free   

The Real Estatement Free   

PART B: Shipping Information Subtotal  

6% Tax  
 

Total  
Name 
 

Business Name & Address 

 

 

 

City State Zip 

 

Phone Fax  

 

E-mail    

If your organization is tax 
exempt, you must include a 

copy of your tax-exempt form. 

 

Commission  Use Only 

 

Receipt #   
 

Mailed    
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Where’s my mail?

Important Notice Regarding Inactive Status and

E&O Insurance Coverage
by Cindy Rice Grissom, Rice Insurance Services Company, LLC

If you place your license on inactive
status, you need to be aware of special
considerations regarding your Errors
and Omissions insurance coverage. The
current Idaho group policy provides: “In
the event an Insured’s license is placed
on inactive status during a period in
which the Insured has paid the appli-
cable premium, the policy will remain in
effect for the remainder of the Indi-
vidual Policy Period as if the license had
not been placed in inactive status, re-
gardless of whether the license is re-
activated, except that coverage will not
be provided for acts, errors or omis-
sions of the Insured Licensee which
occur during the period when the li-
cense was in an inactive status.”

The current group policy is written on
a “claims-made and reported” basis.
This means that coverage is provided
only for those Claims that are made
against you and reported to the insur-
ance company in writing during the
policy period. If you place your license
on inactive status, you may still be
eligible for limited coverage after the
policy period. The current group policy
provides: “In case of cancellation or
non-renewal because an Insured Lic-
ensee retires, places license on inactive
status or allows license to expire, the
policy will apply to Claims first made
against the Insured and reported to the

Company up to ninety (90) days after
the effective date of cancellation or
non-renewal. Said ninety (90) day pe-
riod will be hereinafter referred to as
the Automatic Extended Reporting
Period.”

After you place your license inactive,
you are not required by law to maintain
your coverage. However, a prudent
individual will maintain coverage in or-
der to avoid personal liability for Claims
made after expiration of the policy pe-
riod. An Optional Extended Reporting
Period Coverage, commonly known as
“Tail Coverage” may be purchased to
cause the policy to apply to Claims first
made and reported up to three (3) years
after the effective date of the cancella-
tion or non-renewal. Tail Coverage can
only be purchased within ninety (90)
days after the licensee’s policy has
terminated. Tail Coverage is important
because so many professional liability
Claims are not made until months after
the subject transaction occurs, and some
may even be made years after the
transaction.

The current group policy provides:
Coverage afforded by the Automatic

and Optional Extended Reporting Peri-
ods:

1. Shall apply solely to Claims aris-
ing from a negligent act(s), error(s), or
omission(s):

(a) committed or alleged to have
been committed subsequent to the Ret-
roactive Date, and

(b) which were committed or alleged
to have been committed prior to the
effective date of cancellation or non-
renewal, and

(c) which are otherwise insured un-
der all the other terms, conditions, and
exclusions of this policy.

2. Shall not apply to any Claim which
is insured by any other policy of insur-
ance nor as excess above such other
policy(ies) of insurance.

3. Nothing in Paragraphs A or B shall
serve to reinstate or increase the Limits
of Liability as provided in Insuring
Agreement, Section II Limits of Liabil-
ity. The Limits of Liability for any Ex-
tended Reporting Period shall be a part
of, and not in addition to, the Limits of
Liability listed on the Declarations.

The current group policy requires
that the Claim be reported to the insur-
ance company, in writing, during your
policy period or any extended reporting
period. The Insured must give written
notice by submitting  a completed No-
tice of Claim Form to the Company as
soon as possible after the Claim is first
made but in no event more than ninety
(90) days after the Insured becomes
aware of such Claim. Such written
notice shall include the name of the
licensee and shall include the time, place
and details of the Claim. Failure to
report a Claim in a timely manner could
jeopardize the coverage provided by
the policy. RISC utilizes a simple Claim
reporting form which is located on its
web site , however, for assistance in
reporting a Claim, call 800-637-7319.

This information is for illustrative
purposes only and is not a contract.
It is intended to provide a general
overview of the products and ser-
vices offered. Only the policy can
provide the actual terms, coverages,
amounts, conditions and exclusions.
This program is only available in
Idaho.�

We receive many inquiries from
licensees regarding where mail from
our office is being sent. For those who
are actively licensed, the mail
from the Commission of-
fice and the Group E&O
insurance company is
mailed to the address listed
on the license, which is al-
ways the main company address. This
means that if you do not check for your
office mail, or if the main office does
not forward mail to the unlicensed
branch offices, important information

such as license renewals, E&O insur-
ance information, and Commis-

sion publications could be missed.
This could ultimately result in

fines and/or disciplinary ac-
tions.

For those who hold an
inactive license, mail such as

renewals and publications from
the Commission office are sent to your
home address. It is important that lic-
ensees file a change of home address
with the Commission office when they
move.�

 



July 2004 The Real Estatement-13

(continued on page 14)

Disciplinary Actions

Formal actions issued by the Idaho
Real Estate Commission:

Baty, Gary D., associate broker with
Century 21 Greater Valley Properties
Inc., in Twin Falls. Stipulated to viola-
tion of section 54-2023(1)(a) and 54-
2060(10)-failure to complete CE in a
timely manner. Given a formal repri-
mand, ordered to pay a civil fine of $250
and the costs and attorney’s fees.

Beckstead, Scott L., designated
broker with Scott Beckstead Real Es-
tate Company in Preston. Stipulated to
violations of Idaho Code sections 54-
2051(4)(g)-failure to include legal de-
scription in Purchase & Sale Agree-
ment; 54-2048(2)-failure to obtain signed
closing statements; 54-2086(1)(b)-not
exercising reasonable skill and care to
insure title insurance was provided as
per contract; 54-2086(1)(c)-not prop-
erly accounting for buyer’s earnest
money; 54-2086(1)(d)-failure to disclose
an adverse material fact; 54-2060(3)-
failure to account; 54-2060(4)-failure
to keep adequate records; 54-2060(12)-
gross negligence or reckless conduct;
54-2048(3)(b)-failure to obtain Seller’s
Representation Agreements. Given a
formal reprimand, ordered to pay a civil
fine of $2,750, required to pay the costs
and attorney’s fees, required to suc-
cessfully complete a Real Estate Law
course, and a live Business Conduct
and Office Operations course.

Brocklebank, David S., associate
broker with Bushell & Company, and
formerly with River Run Realty in Sun
Valley. Voluntary surrender and per-
manent termination of his real estate
license.

Buddecke, David P., currently a
sales associate with Cooper Norman
Business Brokers & Advisors, LLC, in
Twin Falls, but unlicensed at the time of
the violations. Stipulated to a violation
of Idaho Code section 54-2002 as de-
scribed by 54-2004(7) and (29)(a)(c)
&(d)-unlicensed real estate brokerage
activity and acting as a broker without
a license and subject to Idaho Code
section 54-2059. Given a formal repri-
mand, ordered to pay a civil fine of
$5,000 and required to pay the costs and
attorney’s fees.

Cooper Norman Business Bro-
kers & Advisors, LLC, a licensed
brokerage in Twin Falls, but unlicensed
at the time of the violations. Stipulated
to a violation of Idaho Code section 54-

2002 as described by 54-2004(7) and
(29)(a)(c) &(d)-unlicensed real estate
brokerage activity and acting as a bro-
kerage without a license and subject to
Idaho Code section 54-2059.  Given a
formal reprimand, ordered to pay a civil
fine of $5,000 and required to pay the
costs and attorney’s fees.

Drewett, Kerry, inactive sales as-
sociate previously associated with John
L. Scott Boise, in Boise. Stipulated to
violations of sections 54-2023(1)(a) and
54-2060(10) Idaho Code-failure to com-
plete his continuing education in a timely
manner. Given a formal reprimand, re-
quired to pay a civil fine of $250, and
required to pay the costs and attorney’s
fees.

Ekstrom, Jan Louise, former des-
ignated broker for Janek Company in
Sandpoint. Found in violation of sec-
tions 54-2044-failing to balance and
reconcile her trust account; 54-2060(3)-
failure to account for and remit money
belonging to others; 54-2060(5)-failure
to disclose information, books and
records to the Real Estate Commission;
54-2060(12) -engaging in reckless con-
duct. Real estate license is revoked,
required to pay costs and attorney’s
fees.

Erickson, Cathy J., designated bro-
ker with Lemhi River Realty in Hamilton,
MT. Stipulated to violations of Idaho
Code sections 54-2048(2) and (3)(a)-
failure to have signed closing state-
ments; 54-2048(3)(d)-failure to have a
properly executed Buyer Representa-
tion Agreement; 54-2060(2)-continued
or flagrant course of misrepresenta-
tion; 54-2060(3) -removing the seller’s
property, providing the roofing crew
access to the property, and duplicating
the house key, all without permission;

54-2060(11)-dishonest and dishonorable
dealings; 54-2060(12)-gross negligence
or reckless conduct; and 54-2086(1)(b)
and (c)-having the property roofed de-
spite instructions from the sellers and
the listing broker not to. Given a formal
reprimand, ordered to pay a civil fine of
$2,250, required to pay the costs and
attorney’s fees, real estate license is
suspended for a period of 2 years, how-
ever, the suspension is withheld pro-
vided she complies with the terms of the
Final Order, including payment of the
civil fine and costs, completion of the
Real Estate Law course and Brokerage
Management course, and that she does
not commit any other violations of Idaho
Real Estate License Law.

Gankema, Daryl Lee, sales associ-
ate with Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller
Realty in Coeur d’Alene. Stipulated to
violation of section 54-2060(7) Idaho
Code-falsification of an application.
Given a formal reprimand, required to
pay a civil fine of $250 and the costs and
attorney’s fees; determined to be suit-
able for licensure under section 54-
2012(1)(f) Idaho Code.

Lampman, Debra L., currently the
associate broker with RE/MAX of
Nampa/Caldwell and the former desig-
nated broker for RE/MAX of Nampa/
Caldwell in Nampa. Stipulated to viola-
tion of section 54-2040(a)(h) Idaho Code
and rule 402-use of a double contract.
Given a formal reprimand, ordered to
pay a civil fine of $3,500, and to pay the
costs and attorney’s fees; required to
successfully complete a Brokerage Man-
agement course and a live Business
Conduct and Office Operations class,
and required to make five 15-minute
presentations on the dangers of double

In Memory...

The Idaho Real Estate Commission extends their sympathies to the
families of:

Pauline Bingham, Nampa
Gary D. Buffi, Nampa
Joe Clayton, Idaho Falls
Carolyn Gotzinger, Riggins
Jack Hurley, Mountain Home
Gary L. Johnson, Boise
Joseph O. Lewis, Boise

Arthur Montano, Middleton
Laurence “Bernie” Moore, Nampa
Gary T. Mumford, Kuna
Gene L. Robertson, Salmon
Kathleen Stewart, Caldwell
Idella Young, Nampa
Robert Young, Nampa
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How to Contact Us...
208-334-3285 phone

866-447-5411 toll free in Idaho
208-334-2050 fax

www.idahorealestatecommission.com

Accounting Extension E-Mail Address

Charlie Hendrix, Management Asst. ext. 228 chendrix@irec.state.id.us
Administration

Donna Jones, Executive Director ext. 232 djones@irec.state.id.us
Kim Coster, Administrative Counsel ext. 235 kcoster@irec.state.id.us
Joanna Marshall, ITT/Web Master ext. 230 jmarshal@irec.state.id.us
Kathy Roller, Administrative Asst. ext. 229 kroller@irec.state.id.us

Education
Jill Randall, Education Director ext. 234 jrandall@irec.state.id.us
Marty Gunter, Education Asst. ext. 226 mgunter@irec.state.id.us
Jennifer Bonilla, Office Spec. ext. 223 jbonilla@irec.state.id.us

Enforcement
Terry Ruettgers, Chief Investigator ext. 237 truettge@irec.state.id.us
Craig Boyack, Investigator ext. 231 cboyack@irec.state.id.us
Nancy Mesaros, Inspector ext. 236 nmesaros@irec.state.id.us
Stephanie McLarin, Enforcement Sec. ext. 225 smclarin@irec.state.id.us

Licensing
Neal Bernklau, Licensing Supervisor ext. 227 nbernkla@irec.state.id.us
Pat Zaske, Office Specialist ext. 224 pzaske@irec.state.id.us
Jennifer Bonilla, Office Spec. ext. 223 jbonilla@irec.state.id.us

(continued on page 15)

(Disciplinary from page 13)

contracts.
Lampman, Douglas J., currently

the designated broker with RE/MAX of
Nampa/Caldwell in Nampa. Stipulated
to violations of section 54-2040A(h),
Idaho Code, and Rule 402-use of a
double contract. Given a formal repri-
mand, ordered to pay a civil fine of
$3,500.00, and required to pay costs
and attorney’s fees; required to suc-
cessfully complete a Brokerage Man-
agement course and live Business Con-
duct & Office Operations course, and
required to make five 15-minute pre-
sentations on the dangers of double
contracting.

Lampman, Douglas J., designated
broker with RE/MAX of Nampa/
Caldwell in Nampa, and prior an asso-
ciate broker with RE/MAX of Nampa/
Caldwell. Stipulated to violation of sec-
tion 54-2040(h) and rule 402-double
contracting. Given a formal reprimand,
required to pay a $2,500 civil fine, and
ordered to pay the costs and attorney’s
fees; real estate license is suspended
from May 1, 2004, until September 30,
2004.

Langer, Debbie, sales associate
with Greylock Realty, Inc., in Boise,
and previously with AV West in Boise.
Stipulated to violation of section 54-
2054(6) Idaho Code-failure to disclose
to all parties that she was being paid a
loan origination fee. Given a formal
reprimand, ordered to pay a civil fine of
$1,000, and costs and attorney’s fees.

Lowe, Adam D., sales associate
with Assist 2 Sell Buyers & Sellers
Realty in Meridian. Stipulated to viola-
tions of sections 54-2087(2)-failure to
exercise reasonable skill and care for
his client; 54-2087(3)-failure to disclose
an adverse material fact. Given a for-
mal reprimand for his actions; required
to pay a civil fine of $1,500, and costs
and attorney’s fees; required to suc-
cessfully complete a Seller and Buyer
Representation course.

Ryan, Charles B., sales associate
with Century 21 Beutler & Associates
in Coeur d’Alene. Stipulated to viola-
tions of Idaho Code sections 54-2085(4)-
failure to complete the representation
confirmation statement correctly; 54-
2087(3)(a)-failure to disclose an ad-
verse material fact. Given a formal
reprimand, required to pay a civil fine of

$5,000, ordered to pay the costs and
attorney’s fees, and required to suc-
cessfully complete a Real Estate Law
course.

Santi, Steffani L., sales associate
with RE/MAX of Nampa/Caldwell in
Nampa. Stipulated to violations of sec-
tion 54-2040A(h), Idaho Code, and Rule
402-use of a double contract. Given a
formal reprimand, ordered to pay a civil
fine of $1,500, required to pay costs and
attorney’s fees of $500, required to
successfully complete a Real Estate
Finance course.

Slippy, Tina S., sales associate with
RE/MAX West in Boise. Stipulated to
violation of section 54-2023(1)(a) and
54-2060(10)-failure to complete con-
tinuing education in a timely manner.
Given a formal reprimand, ordered to
pay a civil fine of $250, and the costs
and attorney’s fees.

Stephenson, Troy P., sales associ-
ate formerly with Lazaris Realty in
Boise. Stipulated to violations of Idaho
Code sections 54-2023(1)(a)-failure to
obtain required continuing education;
54-2060(7) and Commission adminis-
trative rule 406-misstatement on re-
newal of license. Given a formal repri-

mand, ordered to pay $250 civil
fine, and costs and attorney’s
fees. Must complete continuing
education prior to activation of
license.

Wellmaker, Jeffrey Lyn, as-
sociate broker formerly with
Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller
Realty in Coeur d’Alene, and pre-
viously with Windermere Coeur
d’Alene Realty in Coeur d’Alene.
Voluntary surrender of his real
estate license.

Wilson, Kenneth Crandle,
associate broker formerly with
Coldwell Banker Aspen Realty
in Boise, formerly the designated
broker with Ken Wilson & Asso-
ciates in Nampa, and associate
broker formerly with RE/MAX
of Nampa/Caldwell in Nampa.
Found to be in violation of Idaho
Code sections 54-2086(1)(a)-fail-
ure to perform ministerial acts;
54-2086(1)(d)-failure to disclose
adverse material fact; 54-
2060(12)-gross negligence or
reckless conduct; 54-2054(5) and
54-2060(8)-double contracting;
54-2051(1)(a)-failure to properly
complete Seller Representation
Agreement; 54-2060(2)-contin-
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(Disciplinary from page 14)

(continued on page 16)

ued or flagrant course of misrepresen-
tation or making of false promises; 54-
2060(11)-dishonest or dishonorable
dealings; 54-2060(12)-gross negligence
or reckless conduct (2nd count); 54-
2087(3)(a)-failure to promote the best
interest of his client in good faith, honest
and fair dealings. Real estate license
was revoked, ordered to pay $5,000
civil fine, and required to pay costs and
attorney’s fees.

Yearsley, Grant L., sales associate
formerly associated with Valley Real
Estate in Garden Valley. Stipulated to
violation of section 54-2060(10) Idaho
Code-failure to comply with a Commis-
sion Final Order. Real estate license
revoked.

Yearsley, Linda K., designated bro-
ker formerly associated with Valley
Real Estate in Garden Valley. Stipu-
lated to violation of section 54-2060(10)
Idaho Code-failure to comply with a
Commission Final Order. Real estate
license was revoked.

Designated brokers and salespersons
issued a civil penalty fine for violation of
sections 54-2002, 54-2018(2), and 54-
2060(10), Idaho Code-failure to renew
license in a timely manner, and continu-
ing to practice as a licensee after li-
cense had expired:

Archibald, Nancy Louise, sales-
person with RE/MAX Homestead Re-
alty, in Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Batchelder, Kristen Elinor, sales-
person with Jackson Hole Real Estate
& Appraisal, LLC, in Jackson Hole,
WY. Civil penalty fine of $300.

Callies, Tricia A., designated bro-
ker with Boise Realty, Inc., in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $60.

Driver, Gary W., salesperson with
Coldwell Banker North Country Re-
alty, in Newport, WA. Civil penalty fine
of $100.

Fielding, James David, salesper-
son with NAI Commerce One, branch
office, in Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine
of $150.

Jensen, Alina Kay, salesperson with
ERA West Wind, in Boise. Civil penalty
fine of $300.

Judy, Toni M., salesperson with
Century 21 Gem Realty, in Emmett.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Murphy, Shane R., salesperson
with NAI Commerce One in Idaho

Falls. Civil penalty fine of $100.
O’Brien, Sean Douglas, recipro-

cal designated broker with Snake River
Properties, LLC, in Wilson, WY. Civil
penalty fine of $70.

Rice, Dawn Renee, salesperson
with John L. Scott POB, in Priest River.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Saunders, Stephen R., salesper-
son with Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller
Realty, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Skinner, Evan E., salesperson with
Smith & Company Realty, in Montpe-
lier. Civil penalty fine of $100. (2nd
violation)

Designated brokers issued a civil
penalty fine for violation of sections 54-
2038(3) and 54-2060(10), Idaho Code-
failure to adequately supervise by al-
lowing an unlicensed person to repre-
sent the broker.

Arnell, Guy E., designated broker
with NAI Commerce One, in Idaho
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Arnell, Guy E., designated broker
with NAI Commerce One, in Burley.
Civil penalty fine of $150.

Clifton, Maurice S., designated bro-
ker with ERA West Wind, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $300.

Fields, Nancy J., designated bro-
ker with Century 21 Gem Realty, in
Emmett. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Jones, Mary Ann, designated bro-
ker with John L. Scott POB, in Priest
River. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Noble, Richard F., designated bro-
ker with Coldwell Banker North Coun-
try Realty, in Newport, WA. Civil pen-
alty fine of $100.

Schneidmiller, Gary T., designated
broker with Coldwell Banker
Schneidmiller Realty, in Coeur d’Alene.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Smith, Dalan E., designated broker

with Smith & Company Realty, in Mont-
pelier. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Van Engelen, H. Craig, designated
broker with Sel-Equity Real Estate, in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $150.

Veihman, David, designated broker
with Jackson Hole Real Estate & Ap-
praisal, LLC, in Jackson Hole, WY.
Civil penalty fine of $300.

Vinnola, Greg V., designated bro-
ker with RE/MAX Homestead Realty,
in Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

The following designated brokers
have been issued citations for violations
found during their audits:

Blackburn, William C., designated
broker with Middleton Realty, in
Middleton.

Brown, Theresa M., designated
broker with Valley Properties, in
Rexburg.

Brown, Will G., designated broker
with American Dream Realty, in Rupert.

Callies, Tricia A., designated bro-
ker with Boise Realty, Inc., in Boise.

Cooper, Judith F., designated bro-
ker with Twin Lakes Realty, in
Rathdrum.

Feldtman, Stephen S., designated
broker with Feldtman REALTORS,
in Twin Falls.

Gluch, Ann Elizabeth, designated
broker with G & T Realty, in Glenns
Ferry.

Graver, Timothy Charles, desig-
nated broker with Prime Commercial
Real Estate in Garden City.

Hopkins, John J., designated bro-
ker with Fields & Hopkins Realtors,
LLC, in McCall.

Horton, Philip, designated broker
with Horton Homes, in Nampa.

Jenks, Rodney Leon, designated
broker with Century 21 Advantage, in
Idaho Falls.

License Stats

(as of June 1, 2004)

Active (broker & sales) ...................................................... 6,400
Active brokers ................................................................ 1,804
Active sales .................................................................... 4,596

Inactive (broker & sales) .................................................... 1,709
Inactive brokers ................................................................. 345
Inactive sales .................................................................. 1,364

Active Companies .............................................................. 1,070
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Jordan, R. Brad, designated broker
with GMAC Real Estate Northwest, in
Coeur d’Alene.

Keller, Michael T., designated bro-
ker with Thornton Oliver Keller, in
Boise.

Korstad, Bruce, designated broker
with United Country – Stubbs Realty,
Inc., in Kuna.

Lampman, Douglas J., designated
broker with RE/MAX of Nampa/
Caldwell, in Nampa.

Laraway, Lawrence C., designated
broker with Coldwell Banker Aspen
Realty, in Boise.

Leader, David E., designated bro-
ker with Heritage Realty, in Garden
City.

Longstreet, Garret James, desig-
nated broker with Century 21 1st Place
Realty, in Boise.

Lytle, Koelean, designated broker
with Century 21-Greater Valley Proper-
ties, in Twin Falls.

McGurkin, Angela Maria, desig-
nated broker with Moscow Realty,
LLC, in Moscow.

McNally, J. Scott, designated bro-
ker with Snake River Real Estate, in
Idaho Falls.

Musacchia, David Benedict, des-
ignated broker with Continental Real
Estate, Inc., in Logan, Utah.

Reece, Robert, designated broker
with ERA Archibald-Reece Real Es-
tate, Inc., in Rigby.

Scott, Stanley H., designated bro-
ker with Scott’s Desert Sun Realty
Inc., in Mountain Home.

Stejer, James Albert, designated
broker with Lifestyle Real Estate, in
Priest River.

Streeter, O. Jack, designated bro-
ker with Streeter Real Estate, in Moun-
tain Home.

Van Engelen, H. Craig, designated
broker with Sel-Equity Real Estate, in
Boise.

Vaudreuil Sr., Raymond R., desig-
nated broker with Hope Realty, in Coeur
d’Alene.

Walker, Bryce N., designated bro-
ker with Emmett 1 Real Estate, in
Emmett.

Wiegand, Diane Elizabeth, desig-
nated broker with Mountain Lakes Re-
alty, Inc., in McCall.

Yates, Dennis L., designated bro-
ker with Help-U-Sell Snake River Val-
ley, in Caldwell.

Zandersmith, Janet E., designated
broker with Clark Real Estate, in
McCall.

Firms, designated brokers, associate
brokers and salespersons issued a civil
penalty fine for violation of Commission
Administrative Rule 121.03 - failure of
a licensee to maintain Errors and Omis-
sions insurance or failure of a licensee
to submit or cause to be submitted a
certificate of coverage as required by
Section 54-2013, Idaho Code:

Agcom Real Estate, (Darwin B.
VanderStelt, designated broker) in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Anderson, Edward Francis, des-
ignated broker with Edward Anderson
Broker, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Andrews, Ron R., salesperson with
Coldwell Banker Town & Country Real,
in Lewiston. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Aslett, Ladona F., salesperson with
Professional Realty Services, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Austin, Christopher D., salesper-
son with Brandt Agency, in Nampa.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Bachmann, Steven L., salesper-
son with Realty Executives of Treasure
Valley, in Meridian.  Civil penalty fine
of $50.

Bailey, Danny W. “Dan”, sales-
person with ABOB & Associates Re-
alty, in Moscow. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Baldwin, Garth, designated broker

with Baldwin Realty, in Eagle. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Barker, Doris T., salesperson with
Century 21 Greater Valley Properties,
Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty fine of
$50

Bartlett, Douglas M., salesperson
with Idaho Real Estate Company, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Baumann, Charlie Jason, sales-
person with The Brokerage, in Pocatello.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Beckstead, Scott L., designated
broker with Scott Beckstead Real Es-
tate Company, in Preston. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Beekley, Sonja Ahone, salesper-
son with Mountain Valley Properties
LLC, in Boise. Civil penalty fine of
$100.

Bell, Julie Patricia, salesperson
with Momentum Real Estate, in Hailey.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Bench, Leslie E., salesperson with
Hadden Realty, in Shoshone. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Bermensolo, Gary R., associate
broker with Mountain Home Agency,
in Mountain Home. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Beveridge, Donald J., salesper-
son with Treaty Rock Realty, Inc., in
Post Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Bistline, Stephen P., associate bro-
ker with Lake Country Real Estate:
Top Dog, Inc., in Sandpoint. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Blessinger, Thomas David, sales-
person with Team Realty, in Nampa.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Brackett, Barry L., associate bro-
ker with Canyonside Realty, Inc.,
GMAC Real Estate, in Jerome. Civil
penalty fine of $50

Brown-Sproul, Sharon A., sales-
person with Windermere Capital Group
Commercial, Inc., in Boise. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50

Brumfield, Janie M., salesperson
with Heartland Real Estate, Inc., in
Blackfoot. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Cafferty, Danny M., designated bro-
ker with Danny M. Cafferty Realty,
Inc., in Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Caldwell, Roxann, associate bro-
ker with International Realty Plus of
Idaho, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Cameron, Karen E., associate bro-
ker with Outback Realty, LLC, in Is-
land Park. Civil penalty fine of $50.

(Disciplinary from page 15)

(continued on page 17)

Coming Soon

The July 2004 edition of the Idaho Real Estate License Law and
Rules book will soon be mailed to all active and inactive licensees,
so be sure to check your office mail. Or, if you are inactive and your
home address has changed, be sure to notify the Commission
office soon!
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Carr, Erica S., salesperson with
Ernie Carr Real Estate, in Garden City.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Carr, Ernest W., designated broker
with Ernie Carr Real Estate, in Garden
City. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Carrow, Trula L., salesperson with
Windermere Nampa/Caldwell, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Castaneda, Sylvestre, designated
broker with Mission Mannor Realty, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Coffey, Kenneth Lawrence, sales-
person with Windermere Real Estate/
Richard B. Smith, Inc., in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Condon, Laurel Jean, salesperson
with Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC
Real Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty
fine of $100.

Corcoran, John Thomas, sales-
person with International Realty Plus of
Idaho, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $100.

Corcoran, Karen L., designated
broker with International Realty Plus of
Idaho, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $100.

Cord, Robyn Lee, associate bro-
ker with Corey Barton Homes Sales &
Marketing, Inc., in Nampa. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Cowan, Angela M., salesperson
with International Realty Plus of Idaho,
in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty fine of
$50

Crawford, Mary Jo, salesperson
with Future Techs R/E, in Caldwell.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Cummins, Terry D., salesperson
with Magic Valley Realty, Inc., in Twin
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Dean, Michael A., salesperson with
ERA The Home Connection, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Devore, Leland R., associate bro-
ker with Westerra Group, Inc., in Twin
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Dick, John R., salesperson with
Magic Valley Realty, Inc., in Twin Falls.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Dixon, Jason C., salesperson with
ERA The Home Connection, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Dorn, Sheryl C., salesperson with
Realty One Baxter & Associates, in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Drinkard, Holly Kay, salesperson
with Corey Barton Homes Sales &
Marketing, Inc., in Meridian. Civil pen-

alty fine of $100.
Driver, Craig Andrew, salesper-

son with RFR Properties LLC, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Drougas, Ari C., salesperson with
Sun Valley Real Estate, LLC, in
Ketchum. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Dufva, Diane, salesperson with First
Rate Real Estate, LLC, in Melba. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Duynslager, Patrick J., salesper-
son with Sel-Equity Real Estate, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Edward, Robert W., designated bro-
ker with Idaho Falls Realty, in Idaho
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Elliott III, Arthur George, sales-
person with Windermere/Coeur d’Alene
Realty, Inc., in Coeur d’Alene. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Emery, John R., designated broker
with John R. Emery Realty, in Merid-
ian. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Engle & Associates, LLC, (Mat-
thew B. Engle, designated broker) in
Sun Valley. Civil penalty fine of $80.

Engledow, Clinton W., salesper-
son with Kamiah Properties, in Kamiah.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

ERA Archibald-Reece Real Es-
tate Inc., (Robert D. Reece, desig-
nated broker), in Idaho Falls. Civil pen-
alty fine of $270

Farley, Lita-Marie A., salesper-
son with Lake Country Real Estate:
Top Dog, Inc., in Sandpoint. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Fields & Hopkins Realtors, LLC,
(John J. Hopkins, designated broker) in
McCall. Civil penalty fine of $120.

Flinders, Tom L., designated bro-

ker with Flinders Realty & Exchange,
Inc., in Malad City. Civil penalty fine of
$100.

Foster, Wanda M., designated bro-
ker with The Home Company Real
Estate, Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Geiger, Donald W., inactive broker
in Post Falls. Civil penalty fine of $150.

George, Carol Jane, associate bro-
ker with Century 21 Greater Valley
Properties, in Twin Falls. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Gibbs, Christopher D., associate
broker with Lakeshore Realty, in Coeur
d’Alene. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Gomez, Jose, salesperson with
ERA H&H Properties, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Gonzalez, Alice L., designated bro-
ker with Realm Properties, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Goodman, Gregory J., salesper-
son with John L. Scott BOI, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Green, Denise H., salesperson with
Smith & Co. Realty, in Montpelier. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Grossman, Pirie, salesperson with
Sun Valley Real Estate LLC, in
Ketchum. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Gunther, Richard G., salesperson
with Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller Re-
alty, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $100.

Hale, Kathleen E., salesperson with
Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC Real
Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Harbor Village Realty, P.C., (John

(Disciplinary from page 16)

(continued on page 18)

Profile of the Ideal Licensee
(from IREC staff’s perspective…)

Not every practice needs to be defined by law.  The staff appreciates
when licensees take the time to:

� Read the form, application, or letter thoroughly.
� Contact the Commission staff with any ques-

tions.
� Renew their license online and on time.
� Complete the Continuing Education Core Course

every year.
� Be courteous when working with staff and un-

derstand we are just trying to do our job!

There are many licensees who practice these things and our hats are off
to all of you! You make it a pleasure to work at the Real Estate Commission.
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H. Shoppe, designated broker) in Gar-
den City, Ut. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Harding, Eugene Glen, associate
broker with Selequity Real Estate, in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Hartigan, Nancy, salesperson with
NAI Commerce One, in Idaho Falls.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Hartman, John Andrew, salesper-
son with Silver Heritage Realty, LLC,
in Kellogg. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Help U Sell Team Realty,  (Chris-
tine Italiano, designated broker) in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Hidden Springs Realty Co. LLC,
(Frank A. Martin, designated broker) in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Holladay, E. Wayne, designated
broker with Holladay Real Estate, in
Rexburg. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Holt, James Brian, salesperson
with Gem State Realty, Inc., in Twin
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Hough, Jeff Scott, salesperson with
Help-U-Sell Team Realty, in Pocatello.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

House of Brokers Home Team,
(Christian E. Hansen, designated bro-
ker) in Boise. Civil penalty fine of $80.

Howell, Brian R., salesperson with
Metro Group Realty, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Howell, Kelly J. “Jayce”, sales-
person with High Desert REALTORSâ
GMAC Real Estate, in Idaho Falls.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Huffaker, Steven Dwayne, sales-
person with Windermere/Coeur d’Alene
Realty, Inc., in Coeur d’Alene.Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Hult, Pamela Kaye, designated bro-
ker with Pam Hult Agency, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Humphrey, Darrell Ray, salesper-
son with Windermere Nampa/Caldwell,
in Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Hunemiller, Kelly J.,  salesperson
with The Real Estate Group, in Merid-
ian. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Hurds, Wendy Ann, salesperson
with ERA H & H Properties, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Hurlbutt, Jennifer N., salesperson
with McCall Real Estate Co., in McCall.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Hyde, Judy Lyn, salesperson with
Smith & Company Realty, in Montpe-
lier. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Idaho Mountain Properties, Inc.,
(Carol A. Amburgy, designated bro-
ker), in Donnelly. Civil penalty fine of
$100.

International Realty Plus of Idaho,
(Karen L. Corcoran, designated bro-
ker) in Coeur d’Alene.Civil penalty fine
of $220.

Italiano, Christine, designated bro-
ker with Help-U-Sell Team Realty, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Jacobs, Michael C., associate bro-
ker with Hope Realty, in Post Falls.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Jonas, Dennis Dale, associate bro-
ker with ERA H&H Properties, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Jones, David L., designated broker
with David Jones, Broker, in Boise.Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Jorgensen, Kim Neils, salesper-
son with The Home Specialist, LLC, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Kangas, Janice E., salesperson with
Clark Real Estate, in McCall. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Kiah, Robert M., designated bro-
ker with Live Oak Real Estate, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Kildew, Kim R., salesperson with
Danny M. Cafferty Realty, Inc., in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

King, Donald R., salesperson with
Century 21 Greater Valley Properties,
Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Kirkman, Jerald “Jerry” R., sales-
person with Greylock Realty, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Kneadler, Benjamin M., salesper-
son with Mark Bottles Real Estate Ser-
vices, LLC, in Boise. Civil penalty fine

of $100.
Knight, Donna M., designated bro-

ker with Knight Realty, in Kamiah. Civil
penalty fine of $60.

Kohntopp, Steven W., designated
broker with Magic Valley Realty Inc.,
in Twin Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Lanum, Betty J., designated bro-
ker with Idaho Real Estate Company, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Larsen, Carlena A. “Cari”, sales-
person with Hailey Realty Inc., in Hailey.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Lewis, Patrick J., salesperson with
Century 21 Greater Valley Properties,
Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Lloyd, Paul, salesperson with
Westerra Group, Inc., in Twin Falls.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Lockhart, Brent Lamar, salesper-
son with Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller
Realty, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $100.

Long, Randy Scott, salesperson
with Ski Country Idaho, in Ketchum.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Lubcke, Barbara J., salesperson
with Garden Valley Properties, LLC, in
Garden Valley. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Manwaring, Jeremy J., salesper-
son with Home Pointe real Estate, LLC,
in Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Manwaring, Joshua B., salesper-
son with Re/Max West, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Martin, Frank A., designated bro-
ker with Hidden Springs Realty Co.
LLC, in Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Masten, William N. “Bill”, sales-
person with Jim Swank Real Estate, in
Mountain Home. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

McBride, Kent C., designated bro-
ker with Sun Valley Properties & In-
surance–Shoshone, in Shoshone. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

McCormick, Suzanne,  salesper-
son with The Brokerage, in Pocatello.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

McKelvey, Danny D. “Kip, sales-
person with Magic Valley Realty Inc.,
in Twin Falls. Civil penalty fine of $100.

McMurray, John C., salesperson
with Lakeshore Realty, in Coeur
d’Alene. Civil penalty fine of $50.

McNally J. Scott, designated bro-
ker with Snake River Real Estate, in
Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Middleton, William C., salesper-
son with Greylock Realty, in Boise.Civil

(Disciplinary from page 17)

(continued on page 19)

As of July 1, 2004 the Agency Law in

Idaho (Blue) Brochure will be

completely revised. All other versions

(July 2003 and earlier) will be obsolete!
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penalty fine of $100.
Miller, Steve T., salesperson with

Help-U-Sell Snake River Valley, LLC,
in Caldwell. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Mitcham, Thomas T. “Tom”,
salesperson with Windermere Real
Estate/Richard B. Smith, Inc., in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $100.

Moggridge, Kip F., salesperson
with Arthur Berry & Co., in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Moller, David A., associate broker
with Advantage 1 Realty, in Burley.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Morgan, Matthew E., salesperson
with William Morgan Real Estate, Inc.,
in Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Morris, Laura B., salesperson with
Sel-Equity Real Estate, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Morrow, Edward Joseph, sales-
person with Re/Max of Spokane, in
Spokane, Wa. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Murphy, Shane R., salesperson pre-
viously with NAI Commerce One, in
Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Mylander, Roger H., salesperson
with Team Realty, in Nampa. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Nelson, Randy R., salesperson with
John L Scott POB: J&J General Con-
tractors, Inc., in Priest River. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Newberry, Bryan D., salesperson
with Canyonside Realty Inc., in Jerome.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Nichols, Joseph K., associate bro-
ker with Windermere/Coeur d’Alene
Realty, Inc., in Coeur d’Alene. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Nielsen, Margaret J., salesperson
with Century 21 Greater Valley Prop-
erties, Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Overstreet, Lisa S., salesperson
with Windermere Real Estate/Richard
B. Smith Inc., in Boise. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Paller, Jane M., designated bro-
ker with Paller & Associates, in Emmett.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Papero, Chris Richard, salesper-
son with Windermere Real Estate/Ri-

chard B. Smith Inc., in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Parker, Christine Ann, salesper-
son with Sun Valley Properties, in
Shoshone. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Parker, Russell A. “Rusty”, as-
sociate broker with Sun Valley Proper-
ties, in Shoshone. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Parrish, Christopher B., salesper-
son with Re/Max West, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50

Parsons, Robert Dean, designated
broker with Ridgewood Realty LLC, in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Patterson, Lester O., salesperson
with Triple 7 Realty, in Gooding. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Paulin, Laura Linda, salesperson
with Waldo Real Estate, in New Ply-
mouth. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Payne, Marla J., designated broker
with Outback Realty, LLC, in Island
Park. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Pearson, Joseph W., salesperson
with Windermere Nampa/Caldwell, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Perttu, Cynthia C., designated bro-
ker with Results Realty, in Lewiston.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Peterson, Kristian A., salesper-
son with Windermere Capital Group
Commercial, Inc., in Boise. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Phillips, Harry Hugh, salesperson
with Century 21 Greater Valley Prop-
erties, Inc., in Twin Falls. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Powell, Roberta E., salesperson
with Double Eagle Realty, in Meridian.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Pratt, Lavina, designated broker
with Eagle Hills Properties, in Eagle.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Probst, Allan D., salesperson with
Flinders Realty & Exchange Inc., in
Malad City. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Randel Jr., Garrett V H “Gary”,
salesperson with Danny M Cafferty
Realty, Inc., in Boise. Civil penalty fine
of $50.

Raymond, Jeffrey D., salesperson
with Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller Re-
alty, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

(Disciplinary from page 18) RE/MAX of Spokane, (William W.
Main IV, designated broker) in Spo-
kane, WA. Civil penalty fine of $140.

Results Realty,  (Cynthia C. Perttu,
designated broker) in Lewiston. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Ridgewood Realty LLC, (Robert
Dean Parsons, designated broker) in
Boise. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Rindfleisch, Jerilyn, salesperson
with The Realty Company, in Blackfoot.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Roach, Howard L., associate bro-
ker with Treaty Rock Realty, Inc., in
Post Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Robertson, Harry Wayne, sales-
person with International Realty Plus
Of Idaho, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Rodriguez, Hipolito M. “Martin”,
salesperson with Windermere Nampa/
Caldwell, in Nampa. Civil penalty fine
of $50.

Roest, Herman “Herm”, sales-
person with Agcom Real Estate, in
Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Rogan, Elizabeth S., salesperson
with RE/MAX West, in Boise.Civil pen-
alty fine of $50.

Rogan, Joseph V., salesperson with
RE/MAX West, in Boise.Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Ross, Bonny J., designated broker
with Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC
Real Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty
fine of $50,

Ross, David J., salesperson with
Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC Real
Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Roth, Craig M., salesperson with
Roth Real Estate, in Sun Valley. Civil
penalty fine of $100.

Sanchez, Evelyn Mary, salesper-
son with Westerra Group, Inc. in Twin
Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Sandpoint.Com Real Estate,
(Marjorie S. Stevens, designated bro-
ker), in Sandpoint. Civil penalty fine of
$60.

Schlader, Donald Lewis, salesper-
son with Help U Sell Team Realty, in
Pocatello. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Schlader, Dorothy Grace, sales-

Have you been to our website?

www.idahorealestatecommission.com

(continued on page 20)
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person with Help U Sell Team Realty,
in Pocatello.Civil penalty fine of $100.

Schweitzer, Joy C., salesperson
with Gold Key Real Estate, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Seymour, Ashley D., associate bro-
ker with The Lawson Company Real
Estate Professionals, LLC, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Shea, Lorraine “Lori” E., sales-
person with American Realty West,
Inc., in Driggs. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Sherman-Kauf, Patti Lynn, sales-
person with Teton Springs Realty, LLC,
in Victor. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Shoppe, John H., designated bro-
ker with Harbor Village Realty P.C., in
Garden City, Utah.  Civil penalty fine of
$100.

Shryne, Dalia, salesperson with
Corey Barton Homes Sales & Market-
ing, Inc., in Nampa. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Sidell, Tracy Bettina, salesperson
with RE/MAX West, in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Snodgrass, Richard K. “Rick”,
salesperson with Idaho Real Estate
Company, Inc., in Nampa. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Staker, Everon Lee, salesperson
with Home Pointe Real Estate LLC, in
Idaho Falls. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Stapleton, Nancy J., salesperson
with Lake Country Real Estate, in
Sandpoint. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Steninger, Margaret L., salesper-
son with Windermere Nampa/Caldwell,
in Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Stranger, Brian C., salesperson
with Lakeshore Realty LLC, in Coeur
d’Alene. Civil penalty  fine of $100.

Streeter, O. Jack, designated bro-
ker with Streeter Real Estate, in Moun-
tain Home. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Sweaney, Geraldine, salesperson
with The Preferred Company, in
Caldwell. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Sweaney, Richard J., salesperson
with The Preferred Company, in
Caldwell. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Tabar, William J., designated bro-
ker with Business Resource Center, in
Ogden, Utah. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Tattersall, Justin G., reciprocal
salesperson with Snake River Proper-
ties, LLC, in Wilson Wyoming. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Tauber, Cassandra “Cassie” A.,
salesperson with Inland Northwest Re-

alty, Inc., in Sandpoint. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Teton Real Estate Inc., (Jamie K.
Wise, designated broker), in Victor.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Tews, M. Elizabeth, salesperson
with Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC
Real Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty
fine of $50.

Thaler, Lisa Michelle, managing
salesperson with Lifestyle Real Estate,
in Coeur d’Alene. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Thomas, Paul David, salesperson
with Jane C. Reiser Realty, in Boise.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Trimble, Steve R., salesperson with
Windermere Real Estate/Capital Group,
Inc., in Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Tschacher, Darell R., designated
broker with Darell R. Tschacher, in
Eagle. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Vander Stelt, Darwin B., desig-
nated broker with Agcom Real Estate,
in Nampa. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Verbarendse, Kathleen M., asso-
ciate broker with Robnett Properties,
Inc., in Meridian. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Waddell, Sarah Margaret, sales-
person with Windermere Real Estate/
Richard B. Smith, Inc., in Boise. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Ward, Chad V., designated broker
with Chad V. Ward Real Estate Com-
pany, in Boise. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Ward, Douglas P., designated bro-
ker with Sundance Realty, in Bayview.
Civil penalty fine of $60.

Ward, Earl E., salesperson with

License Lottery Update

(Disciplinary from page 19)

Just a reminder that if you renew
your license online through the Idaho
Real Estate Commission (IREC) and
the state of Idaho’s official web
portal, Access Idaho, you will be
automatically entered into a monthly
drawing for a free license renewal
(up to a $200 value). If you are
renewing an active license you can
be entered a second time by suc-
cessfully printing your active license
online.

Simply visit the IREC homepage,
www.idahorealestatecommission.com,
click the “Licensing Forms and Online

Services” link, select the “Online Li-
censing Services” link, and then click
the “IREC’s online services” link.
After logging in with your date of
birth and the last four digits of your
social security number, click the “Li-
cense Renewal” link and follow the
instructions.

Remember: Only licenses re-
newed online are entered into
the lottery.

For more information about the
license renewal giveaways, contact
Neal Bernklau at ext. 227, or
nbernkla@irec.state.id.us.�

Canyonside Realty, Inc., GMAC Real
Estate, in Jerome. Civil penalty fine of
$50.

Warr, Michael K., salesperson with
Re/Max Advantage, in Nampa. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Watt, Dorene, salesperson with Har-
bor Village Realty P.C., in Garden City
Utah. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Wellmaker, Loretta “Janea”,
salesperson with International Realty
Plus of Idaho, in Coeur d’Alene. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Whipple Sr., Donald Brent, sales-
person with Coldwell Banker Town &
Country REALTORS, in Lewiston.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Wilde, Eric A., salesperson with
Jim Swank Real Estate, in Mountain
Home. Civil penalty fine of $100.

Wise, Jamie K., designated broker
with Teton Real Estate Inc., in Victor.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Wood, Linda Crist, salesperson
with McCall Real Estate Co., in McCall.
Civil penalty fine of $50.

Wylie, Jonathan James “Jon”,
reciprocal salesperson with Live Water
Properties, LLC, in Jackson, Wy. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Wylie, Ladell Scott, salesperson
with Preferred Properties: Hasselbring
Enterprises, Inc., in Blackfoot. Civil
penalty fine of $50.

Young, Trevor R., salesperson with
Bennett & Associates Real Estate, in
Moscow. Civil penalty fine of $50.

Zachow, Cynthia A., salesperson
with Land Exchange Real Estate, in
Salmon. Civil penalty fine of $50. �
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Website Security
by Jeff Walker, Access Idaho

Strong precautions are taken to pro-
tect the information of the users of the
Commission’s website. When users
submit sensitive information via the Site,
that information is protected both online
and off-line.

We take credit card and personal
information security seriously and use a
variety of technical solutions to make
license renewals safe at our Site. Fur-
thermore, your information is encrypted
and is protected utilizing the industry
standard Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)
encryption software. While on a secure
page, the lock icon on the bottom of the
Web browsers such as Netscape Navi-
gator and Microsoft Internet Explorer
becomes locked, as opposed to un-
locked, when you are just ‘surfing’.

The page you are viewing when re-
newing your license or making a credit
card payment is encrypted before being
transmitted over the Internet.  Encryp-
tion makes it very difficult for unautho-
rized people to view information travel-
ing between computers. It is there fore
very unlikely that anyone read this page
as it traveled across the network.  Also,
the identity of the IREC web site has
been verified by Thawte Consulting cc,
and a certificate of authority issued for
the purpose of ecommerce security.

Technical Information
The IREC license renewal site en-

sures the identity of a remote computer
using HyperText Transfer Protocol with
Privacy SSL 3.0, RC4 with 128 bit
encryption (High); RSA with 1024 bit
exchange HyperText Transfer Proto-
col with Privacy.  You can see that the
service is housed on a secure service by
looking for the “https” at the beginning
of a web address.  The “s” at the end of
the “http” signals the use of a secure
server with SSL encryption software.�

Environmental Update
by Kara Stevens, Bureau of Community & Environmental Health

Quiz Answers
(from page 5)

“Excellence in Education” Award

Goes to Gene Galloway

Indoor Air Quality Presentation
offered to REALTOR Boards

In January 2004, a letter was sent
out to all REALTOR boards around
the state letting them know about the
services Kara Stevens’ program of-
fers to Idaho’s licensees, including a
short presentation and educational ma-
terials on radon, mold, and lead. In
response, she received a request from
13 of those boards to speak at one of
their monthly meetings. To date, she
has presented to 8 boards with an
attendance of over 200 REALTORS.
Feedback has been very favorable.
For more information, or to schedule a
presentation, call Kara at 1-800-445-
8647.

New Radon brochure and video
available.

The IIEP announces the availability

of a new point of sale brochure for
licensees and their clients entitled,
“Dealing with Radon in Real Estate
Transactions”. The key message is if
you like a home, buy it. Radon can be
reduced either before or after the sale.
The brochure was designed with input
from practicing licensees as well as
scientists and technicians. Free copies
are available by calling 1-800-445-
8647.

A 20-minute video has also been
developed for buyers that have identi-
fied a concern and want good, detailed
information. The video covers why
radon is a concern in Idaho and else-
where, as well as how it is reliably
measured, with detailed footage on
mitigation techniques for both new and
existing homes. Limited copies of the
video are available by calling 1-800-
445-8647.�

4.  FALSE
5.  FALSE

The Education Council presented the Excellence in Education award to
Mr. Gene Galloway on Tuesday, May 18, 2004, at the Train the Trainer
Workshop. Gene has been a certified instructor since 1984. During that time
he has taught at schools throughout Eastern Idaho. In Addition, Gene served
on the Real Estate Education Council from July 1995 to July 2003. Congratu-
lations, Gene!

1.  TRUE
2.  FALSE
3.  FALSE
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Offices with NO Audit

Violations!
(from November 1, 2003, through April 30, 2004)

Office Audits Conducted     124

Offices With No Violations      25

Edward Adolfson, Cedar Hills Realty, Firth
Michael Anderson, McCall Real Estate Co., McCall
Frederick Bartel, Metro Group Realty, Burley
Shelley Bennett, Bennett & Assoc. Real Estate, Moscow
Joan Brawley, Brawley Realty, Twin Falls
Marvice Brice, Advantage 1 Realty, Burley
F. Jim Brown, Brown Realty, Paul
Gail Byers, Gail Byers Real Estate, Moscow
Maurice Clifton, ERA West Wind, Boise
David Engen, Engen Realty, McCall
Jack Hurley, Cornerstone Real Estate, Mountain Home
Christine Italiano, Help-U-Sell Realty H&H Team, Pocatello
Michael Jacobson, A-One Realty, Boise*

Craig Johnson, Coldwell Banker Johnson & Co., McCall
Virginia “Gini” Johnson, RE/MAX Castlerock Realty,
Mountain Home
Robert Jones, Robert Jones Realty, Twin Falls
Steven Kohntopp, Magic Valley Realty, Twin Falls
William Morscheck, Tomlinson Black Assoc., Moscow
David O’Brien, Cascade Lake Realty, Cascade
Robert Smith, Mountain West Realty, Boise
Shaun Tracy, RE/MAX Mountain West, McCall
Teena Turner, Evans Realty, Emmett
Marva Walters, Landmark Realty, Jerome
Clifford Whitsitt, Whitsitt Real Estate Company, Boise
Charles “Chuck” Winder, The Winder Co., Boise*�

*Limited Volume Office


