I want to:
- Get a salesperson or broker license
- Open a brokerage
- Renew my license
- Print my license
- Change my address
- Add or remove associates from my company
- Have my fingerprints taken
- Purchase E&O insurance
- Request a certified license history
- Look up info on a licensee
- Close a company
- Change brokers for my company
License Exams and Waiver Information
Fingerprinting Update from Pearson VUE: Live scan collection at the testing centers is currently unavailable but a paper hard card collection process is in place until Live scan collection can be resumed in the Boise, Pocatello, and Spokane testing sites. You will need to have your fingerprints rolled onto a hard card at a local law enforcement agency or sheriff’s office and then make an appointment with Pearson VUE to mail the hard card to their fingerprint processing location in Texas. Please visit the Pearson VUE website at https://home.pearsonvue.com/id/realestate for instructions and further information on submitting your fingerprints via the paper hard card fingerprinting submission process. Questions about fingerprints? Visit our Fingerprint Frequently Asked Questions.
IREC contracts with Pearson VUE to administer the Idaho real estate licensing exams. Idaho test centers are located in Boise, Coeur d’Alene, Nampa, Pocatello, and Twin Falls. Pearson VUE also offers testing at many other locations nationwide.
To make an exam appointment (required) or locate a test center near you, visit www.pearsonvue.com or call (877) 540-5833. The exam fee is $80. For more information, see the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook available on the Pearson VUE website.
Idaho has no reciprocal license agreements with any other state.
If you are actively licensed in another state, you qualify for a waiver of the national portion of the Idaho licensing exam. Request a certified license history from your state of licensure. Ask for the history to be sent to you, and submit it to IREC with the Exam Waiver Request Form (REE-047) available on the Forms page of the website. Certified license histories are good for 6 months from the date of issuance or up to the license expiration date in that state, whichever comes first. The waiver must be applied prior to scheduling an exam appointment. If you schedule your exam before the waiver has been applied, you will be scheduled for both portions of the exam. No exceptions!
Felony & Revocation Exemption Requests
Applicants who have ever been convicted of a felony or had a professional license revoked for certain disciplinary reasons must obtain an exemption to be licensed. Commissioners review exemption requests at regularly scheduled Commission meetings. For more information on how to submit a request for exemption review, see the Special Consideration Policy or contact IREC staff for assistance.
IREC accepts late license renewals only if accompanied by the late renewal fee of $25 and any applicable civil penalty fine for practicing on an expired license. Everything required for a late renewal is included when renewing the license through the online services. Late renewals can only be renewed to an inactive status. To have the license reactivated, licensees must complete the required CE outlined in Idaho Code 54-2023 and then contact their Designated Broker. If the late renewal is for a Designated Broker, the licensee must contact the Commission for instruction.
- Cooperative Broker License FAQs
- E&O Insurance
- Certified License, Education History and Printed License Request Form (REE-045) available on the Forms page of the website
- Licensee Count Report
- CE Requirement Video
Get a License
- Broker or Salesperson
- Business Entity
- Cooperative Broker License (REE-005) available on the Forms page of the website
- Prelicense Education
- Education Waivers