Official Government Website

Frequently Asked Questions

Continuing Education | Renewing a License | Making Changes | Getting a License | Prelicense Courses | Fingerprints | Licensing Exams | E&O Insurance | Business Entities | Certification of Courses, Instructors and Providers


Continuing Education

Active Renewals: Two (2) Idaho core courses plus 12 elective hours.
Inactive Renewals: No CE is required to renew on inactive status. 
Reactivation: If within the same renewal period, no CE requirement. Otherwise, same as for an active renewal (two Idaho core courses plus 12 elective hours).
First Time Salesperson Renewals: Licensees renewing on active status for the first time MUST take 2 Commission Core courses plus 12 hours of Post License Education. This must include the 8-hour Post License Fundamentals course and one of the following electives:  Post License Pricing, Marketing, and Advertising; Post License Professionalism, Negotiations, and Closings; or Post License Introduction to Commercial Real Estate.

CE Requirement Video

The Core course is a course developed by IREC each year effective July 1st covering changes in the law, case law, and other “hot topics” identified by the Commission. Licensees are required to take two Idaho Core courses every renewal period. Ethics courses required by the REALTOR Association are NOT the Core course.

Take one of Idaho’s many certified courses from your favorite provider
Attend a Commission meeting (a maximum of 4 hours of CE will be granted once per renewal period for attending an entire regularly-scheduled Commission meeting)
Take a broker prelicense course, or salesperson post license course.
Take courses to earn a professional designation (must submit on a Licensee Request for CE Credit Form (REE-153) located on the Forms page of the website at least 60 days prior to license expiration date). Online courses MUST be ARELLO certified!
Attend certain courses for attorney, appraiser, accountant, or other professional license renewal (must submit on a Licensee Request for CE Credit Form (REE-153) at least 60 days prior to license expiration date). Courses not related to real estate brokerage practice, such as courses that focus on completing USPAP, will be denied.

For courses offered by a certified Idaho provider, look for the IREC course approval number on the course advertising. Check the IREC website Education Lookup for a current list of certified courses. See the list of professional designation courses that count toward your CE. When in doubt, contact the Commission!

If you receive advertising for a course that purports to award Idaho real estate CE credit, and the course is not on IREC’s list of certified courses, there is a good chance the course will NOT count for your CE. The Commission has had problems with individuals who falsely advertise real estate CE credit. We would appreciate your forwarding any misleading or questionable advertising to the Education Department.

All education taken for your CE must be completed within your current licensing period. Your licensing period ends the last day of your birth month and the new period begins on the first day of the next month. (The only time your licensing period would be different is the first year you are licensed.)

If your birthday is June 20, your typical licensing period runs from July 1 of either an even or an odd year to June 30 of the next even or odd year. This means that only education taken between July 1 through June 30 of the next year will count toward your renewal. If you renew your license early, you must wait to take any education for your next licensing period until the new licensing period begins.

You can check your CE by logging in to your account through the IREC Online Services. A Designated Broker can also look up CE records online for agents in his or her office.

All education taken for your CE must be completed within your current licensing period. Your licensing period ends the last day of your birth month and the new period begins on the first day of the next month. (The only time your licensing period would be different is the first year you are licensed.)

If your birthday is June 20, your typical licensing period runs from July 1 of either an even or an odd year to June 30 of the next even or odd year. This means that only education taken between July 1 through June 30 of the next year will count toward your renewal. If you renew your license early, you must wait to take any education for your next licensing period until the new licensing period begins.

Idaho certified course providers are required to post completed education to students/licensees’ records within 5 business days of the course completion. If you take a course in another state, a professional designation course, or a course offered in satisfaction of another profession’s CE requirements, you can submit the course outline and your course completion certification to IREC for consideration of CE credit. Visit the Forms page of the website to download the Licensee Request for CE Credit Form (REE-153).
Yes. The education requirement for initial renewal is 12 hours of prescribed post license courses (8 hours Post License Fundamentals and a 4 hour Post License module of choice). This post license requirement applies to any salesperson who has not yet renewed the license one time on active status.

Post License education is required for:

  • Salespersons in first initial license period.
  • Salespersons activating license for very first time after initial licensing period.
  1. You can have your broker inactivate your license and then you may renew your license online.
  2. You can allow you license to expire, and then renew your license on inactive status. Renewing a license on expired status may cause you to incur a late fee.

The inactivation is effective the moment your broker removes you from the company or the moment you complete the renewal, not the effective date of the renewal.   Once you have completed your CE, your broker can reactivate your license online by adding you back to their company.

While your license is inactive, you do not have to meet the Continuing Education requirements but may do so to prepare for a future license activation.

 

Renewing a License

A license may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date.   Make sure you have completed all your continuing education prior to completing an early renewal. If you do not have the required education when you renew your license, even if you renew early, you could be subject to a disciplinary action and civil penalty fines for violation of the License Law.

Your licensing period ends the last day of your birth month and the new period begins on the first day of the next month. The only time your licensing period would be different is the first year you are licensed as you cannot have a licensing period that is more than 24 months.

If your birthday is June 20, your typical licensing period runs from July 1 of either an even or an odd year to June 30 of the next even or odd year. This means that only education taken between July 1 through June 30 of the next year will count toward your renewal. If you renew your license early, you must wait to take any education for your next licensing period until the new licensing period begins.

If you do not renew your license on time, whether active or inactive, it will expire.  Renewals must be received by 5:00 p.m. MST (MDT).  You may still renew your license after it expires by paying the renewal fee along with the late renewal fee of $25 plus a civil penalty fine if you conducted real estate business on an expired license.  Please note:  You can only renew an expired license on inactive status.  If you want your license reactivated after you renew, your broker must make that change online.  You have one year to renew an expired license before it terminates.
If your license terminates, you cannot renew it.  You must start over as a new applicant.  Depending on when your prelicense education was taken, you might have to retake all or part of your prelicense classes.  Prelicense education is valid for  3 years. You must also be fingerprinted, retake the licensing exams, and submit a new license application and fees.

 

Making Changes

Log in to your record through the online services at irec.idaho.gov.  Your contact information will come up, click on “Edit Profile” and you can type in the correct information. Click “submit”.
Log into your record through the Online Services at irec.idaho.gov and go to “Manage My  Company” to change the business address.
Log in to your account and click “Manage My Company” tab. Next click on the company you wish to terminate. Click on the “Terminate” tab.  You must provide the location of the company’s records.  Records must be retained for a period of 3 years following the year in which each transaction was closed.
Your broker must “remove” you from the company through the online services at irec.idaho.gov.  Removing you from the company will inactivate your license.
Log in to your account through IREC online services, click “Manage My Company” tab. Next click the “Remove Associate” tab and remove yourself or terminate the company. To change DBs a Notice of Broker Change form must be submitted.
Your license can be inactive indefinitely; however, you need to renew your license and pay the renewal fee every two years, or else your license will expire.

Your broker must go online and “add” you to the company to reactivate your license.  Make sure that you have met the current CE requirements and have E&O insurance in place before being added to a company.
Log into the online services and select the “Manage My Company” tab.  Next, click “Remove Associate”.   Your list of agents will appear.  Select the individual you wish to remove and click “OK”.  Refresh your list of associates to make sure the agent was properly removed from the company.   You must also notify your agent in writing within 3 days of the removal.  If you are removing an agent for cause, you are required to notify the Commission in writing within 20 days.
Log into the online services and select the “Manage My Company” tab.  Next, click “Add Associate”.  Enter the license number and confirm the licensee you want to add.  You must acknowledge that the licensee is in compliance with the CE and E&O requirements (we also suggest verifying that with the licensee before you add him/her to your company).  Lastly, confirm the addition of the agent.   Refresh your list of associates to make sure the agent was properly added to the company.
If you have a business e-mail address listed in our system, you will receive an e-mail anytime someone leaves your company or renews his/her license to an inactive status.  If you do not have an e-mail address on file with the Commission, you can verify this information using the License Lookup or by logging in to the online services.

 

Getting a License

Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing of your application.  Applications will not be pre-dated or post-dated.  Do not ask staff to prioritize or “rush” your application.  All applications will be processed in the order they are received – NO EXCEPTIONS. 
Depends on why your license was revoked.    If you have had a real estate or other professional or occupational license revoked for a disciplinary violation involving fraud, misrepresentation or dishonest or dishonorable dealing, in Idaho or any other jurisdiction you will need to complete an exemption review. After a period of five (5) years from the date the license was revoked, the applicant may make a written request to the Commission for an exemption review to determine the applicant’s suitability for licensure, which the Commission shall determine in accordance with the Special Consideration Policy.

Idaho Code 54-2012 states the applicant cannot have been convicted of any felony in a state or federal court.   The applicant may make written request to the  Commission for an exemption review to determine the  applicant’s suitability for licensure, which the Commission shall determine in accordance with the Special Consideration Policy.

Idaho Code 54-2012 states that the applicant cannot have been convicted or completed any sentence of confinement for or on account of any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation or dishonest or dishonorable dealing, in a state or federal court, within five (5) years immediately prior to the date the application for license is submitted to the Commission.

Review Idaho Code 54-2011 and 54-2017 to determine whether the cooperative license is the correct license.  The Cooperative Broker License FAQs may be helpful to you as you consider the circumstances.  If the cooperative license is appropriate, read and carefully complete the Cooperative License Application (Form REE-005) located on the Forms page of the website.

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to answer every question and include all required attachments and the correct fee.  IREC cannot accept incomplete paperwork, and all incomplete paperwork will be returned to you.

 

Prelicense Courses

90 hours of prelicense education is required for a new salesperson license, which must be taken within three (3) years preceding the application date. The prelicense coursework is divided into two 45-hour sections (Modules 1 and 2) and is offered by course providers throughout the state through live and remote delivery.
New broker license applicants must complete a minimum of 90 hours of prelicense education within three (3) years, including the mandatory Brokerage Management and Real Estate Law courses, plus two broker electives. Current elective options include: Valuation & Analysis, Finance, Idaho GRI 101/102 (both portions must be taken to fulfill one elective requirement), Idaho GRI 201/202 (both portions must be taken to fulfill one elective requirement), and the CCIM designation courses CI 101, CI 102, CI 103, and CI 104 (attended live only and not completed by “challenge” or through online delivery, unless the online course is ARELLO certified).

All applicants, even those currently licensed as a broker in another state, who wish to be licensed as a “Designated Broker” in Idaho must also complete a Business Conduct and Office Operations (BCOO) course (available online and also currently included as part of Brokerage Management course).

If you are actively licensed in another state, you are not required to take Idaho’s prelicense courses for the same type of license you currently hold.
Yes. Valuation & Analysis will be waived for currently licensed appraisers, currently actively practicing as an appraiser. Real Estate Finance will be waived for applicants with an accounting degree who are currently working in an accounting-related profession. Actively practicing attorneys may have Real Estate Law waived for a broker’s license. You must submit a written request for waiver with your current mailing address and documentation for your active license to BCRE-Education@dopl.idaho.gov prior to submitting a license application.
Select the Education Lookup link.

 

Fingerprints

Yes, you must receive fingerprint clearance before submitting your application.
IREC uses electronic fingerprinting.  Read the fingerprint instructions on the Licensing page and make an appointment through Pearson VUE. Fingerprint results are good for six months. You must be fingerprinted for the Idaho Real Estate program, fingerprint results from other states or professions cannot be used.
You must log in to your account record through the online services at irec.idaho.gov to find that information.
No, fingerprint results will not be given over the phone.  You must log in to your account record through the online services at irec.idaho.gov to find that information. 

 

Licensing Exams

Contact our testing provider, Pearson VUE, at www.pearsonvue.com to schedule a date and time.
Pearson VUE has testing locations throughout the United States. There are 5 primary testing sites in Idaho: Boise, Coeur d’Alene, Nampa, Pocatello, and Twin Falls. There is also a site in Spokane, WA and sites in other states. Visit the Pearson VUE website to schedule an exam appointment at your preferred location.
The cost is $80 for one or both parts (state and national) of the licensing exam.
You may retake one or both portions of the licensing exam as many times as you like by registering with Pearson VUE and paying the exam fee. If you fail one part but pass the other part, you have one year from the date you passed the first part to retake and pass the second part. Otherwise, you will have to retake both portions.
The Commission’s Approved Textbook List available on the Library page of the website has a list of resources that may be helpful in studying for the exam.

 

E & O Insurance

No.  However, you may be interested in purchasing “tail” coverage for claims that might arise from the time you were on active status; contact RISC at www.risceo.com for more information on “tail” coverage.
No, all premiums are considered earned once the coverage period begins.
No. Even if you renew one day late, you will be subject to a fine.   You could also lose your retroactive date for prior claims if you have a gap in your coverage.
No.  IREC does not accept payments for any E&O coverage.
No. E&O must be in effect prior to the broker activating the license.  If applying as an active broker with a company application, you must have E&O in effect for both the company & individual license prior to submitting the license applications. Sole Proprietorship applications do not require separate E&O. 

 

Business Entities

Yes, if all the following conditions have been met. 
A Designated Broker must be appointed to operate the company. 
The Designated Broker must be a member/manager of the company. 
If the Designated Broker already has another company, it too must be a business entity.
If this is a second company, both company business addresses must be at the same location.
Just the one sole proprietorship as the main office.  You could have branch offices licensed or unlicensed, as long as they use the same name as the main office.
Yes, if all the entities maintain their records at the same business address.  The DB must be appointed as the DB of the company and be either a member, manager, officer, or a partner, depending on the type of company and have full authority to act on behalf of the company.  Each entity must hold its own Trust records and accounts separately.
If your current company is a business entity, complete a Notice of Broker Change Form (REE-045), submit a list of all officers/members/managers/partners for the second company, and written evidence you have been appointed by the entity to be the DB.  The outgoing DB must sign the form since they are still the DB.
If your current company is a Sole Proprietorship, then you cannot be the DB of another company unless you have terminated the Sole Proprietorship.
No.
If you are planning to conduct business in Idaho, your entity must be authorized to do business in Idaho with the Secretary of State before the Commission can issue a license for the company.
No, a licensed branch office must use the same business name as the main office./collapse]

No, the unlicensed offices must use the same business name as the main office. 

The law states you must notify the Commission of the new address before you move your office.

 

Certification of Courses, Instructors and Providers

Pursuant to Idaho license law, all course content must be certified in order for the course to be credited toward continuing education requirements in Idaho. (There are exceptions for certain professional designation courses and courses offered for other professional licenses.) Complete the Continuing Education Elective Course Application Form (REE-039) located on the Forms page of the website and submit it to the Commission at least two months prior to the first scheduled course offering. Continuing education courses, once certified, must be offered through a certified Idaho real estate provider.
No. However, CE elective courses must be taught through a certified Idaho real estate provider. It is the provider’s responsibility to make sure that instructors are qualified to teach the courses offered. Certification is required to teach any Commission-developed course.
The Commission does not have any reciprocity agreements with other states for course certification. Different states accept different courses and have varying certification requirements. The license law requires Idaho certification to ensure courses offered for real estate CE meet Idaho requirements and fit within the approved topic areas established by the Commission.

 

 

 

ver: 3.5.1 | last updated: