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January 29, 2014 
 
Dear Designated Broker: 
 
The Commission has received numerous inquiries about a business operating from another state, offering 
to pay finder’s fees to consumers who locate vacant lots and “ugly” houses for the business to purchase 
and flip.  The business advertises a “training system” where it promises to teach consumers how to locate 
lots and homes for the business, with the consumer to receive a finder’s fee of $8,700 per lot and $10,000 
per house.  However, first the interested consumer must sign an independent contractor agreement with 
the business and pay $1,000 or more for access to the business’s “training system.”  After payment, the 
consumer has access to coaching conference calls, online classes and instructional videos in which the 
business explains how to locate and assist in the purchase of certain lots and homes.   
 
It is only after the training course is paid for that the consumer learns the finder’s fee program may be too 
good to be true.  At that time, the business discloses strict criteria a property must meet before it will 
make an offer and pay the promised finder’s fee.  If the business agrees to make an offer on a property, 
the consumer is required to locate a buyer’s agent (licensee) to prepare the contract.  The consumer must 
sign the offer on behalf of the business.  Even more troubling, the consumer must use his or her own 
funds to provide the earnest money for the transaction.   
 
The Commission has not completed a formal investigation of this matter, but from information received 
from consumers, it appears the business may be encouraging consumers to participate in the unlicensed 
practice of real estate.  Any person who engages in “procuring of prospects” is required to hold an active 
real estate license, and an unlicensed person who engages in this activity is in violation of the license law.  
(See Idaho Code 54-2002, as defined by 54-2004(35)(a), (c), and (d) and 54-2004(2).)  While the business 
itself may be considered the buyer for the purposes of the “for sale by owner” exemption for licensure, 
the consumer who is the “independent contractor” is not exempt.  Regrettably, consumers may be misled 
because the business advertises on its website that a real estate license is not required to participate in this 
program.   
 
Additionally, as a reminder to our licensees who may encounter this business model or others like it, the 
Real Estate License Law also prohibits a licensee from paying or sharing commissions with any person 
who is not licensed to sell real estate.  (See Idaho Code 54-2054(2).)   
 
The Commission wants you and your associates to be apprised of this information, in the event you are 
contacted by a consumer wanting to have a contract written on behalf of this business, so you can ensure 
that all activities are conducted in accordance with the license law.  We appreciate your help to remind 
your associates of the requirements pertaining to fee splitting and activities requiring a real estate license.  
Please do not hesitate to contact Enforcement Staff at 208-334-3285 if you have any questions. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Jeanne Jackson-Heim 
Executive Director 


