Protecting the public interest in regulated real estate transactions

How to get an Idaho real estate license

Salesperson     Broker    Already licensed elsewhere?

Salesperson license:

  1. Take your prelicense classes (Module 1 and Module 2).  Go to the Public Database Search to search for available prelicense courses. 

  2. Pass the state and national portions of the salesperson licensing exam and get fingerprinted for the background check.  Schedule the exam and fingerprint appointment through Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com.

    1. Fingerprints can take anywhere from 1 week to 12 weeks for processing.  Read IREC’s Fingerprint Instructions -

      1. We recommend having your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, if possible.   Electronic fingerprints are processed much faster than fingerprints made on a paper card. 

      2. If you cannot have your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, you must contact IREC to have a fingerprint packet sent to you.  Take the fingerprint card to the nearest law enforcement agency to have your fingerprints rolled.  Make sure you and the person who is taking your prints follow the fingerprint instructions exactly. 

    2. Read the Pearson VUE candidate handbook for more information on topics covered in the exams. See the approved textbook list for resources helpful in preparing for the exams. The license law booklet and guidelines are available on the IREC website.  See IREC’s Approved Textbook List for information on obtaining copies of the other resource books.

  3. Register a user name and password for the IREC online services. The online services allow you to track your own fingerprint status, license history, and education records.

  4. Your fingerprints must clear before you send in your application.  You can check your fingerprint status by logging in to the online services.  The message “RES-OK” on your fingerprint status means your prints have cleared. Contact IREC staff for assistance if you have ever had a felony or a professional license revoked.

  5. If you plan to immediately license on Active Status, arrange for Errors & Omissions insurance.  The Commission has a group policy available through Rice Insurance Services Co. at www.risceo.com , or ask your designated broker if you will be covered under a firm policy at the brokerage.  Either way, you must have E&O coverage in place before you submit your application.

  6. Read and carefully complete the Salesperson Application (Form REE-040 on the IREC website).

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to answer every question and include all required attachments and the correct fee.  IREC cannot accept incomplete paperwork, and all incomplete paperwork will be returned to you.

Broker license:

  1. Take your prelicense classes (Brokerage Management, Real Estate Law, plus two electives from this list:  Valuation & Analysis, Finance, GRI 101/102, GRI 201/202, or CCIM courses CI 101, CI 102, CI 103, CI 104).  Go to the Public Database Search to search for available prelicense courses. To be a Designated Broker, you must complete the Idaho Business Conduct and Office Operations (BCOO) course before you can be licensed.   (BCOO is included as part of the Idaho Brokerage Management course.)

  2. Pass the state and national portions of the broker licensing exam and get fingerprinted for the background check.  Schedule the exam and fingerprint appointment through Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com.

    1. You must fingerprint even if you already hold an Idaho salesperson license.  Fingerprints can take anywhere from 1 week to 12 weeks for processing.  Read IREC’s Fingerprint Instructions

      1. We recommend having your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, if possible.   Electronic fingerprints are processed much faster than fingerprints made on a paper card. 

      2. If you cannot have your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, you must contact IREC to have a fingerprint packet sent to you.  Take the fingerprint card to the nearest law enforcement agency to have your fingerprints rolled.  Make sure you and the person who is taking your prints follow the fingerprint instructions exactly.

    2. Read the Pearson VUE candidate handbook for more information on topics covered in the exams. See the approved textbook list for resources helpful in preparing for the exams. You can download the License Law and Rules Booklet and guidelines are available from the IREC website.

  3. If you have not already done so, register a user name and password for the IREC online services.  The online services allow you to track your own fingerprint status, license history, and education records.

  4. Your fingerprints must clear before you send in your application.  You can check your fingerprint status by logging in to the online services.  The message “RES-OK” on your fingerprint status means your prints have cleared. Contact IREC staff for assistance if you have ever had a felony or a professional license revoked.

  5. If you plan to immediately have your license on Active Status, arrange for Errors & Omissions insurance.  The Commission has a group policy available through Rice Insurance Services Co. at www.risceo.com , or ask your designated broker if you will be covered under a firm policy at the brokerage.  Either way, you must have E&O coverage in place before you submit your application.

  6. Read and carefully complete the Broker Application (Form REE-041 on the IREC website). 

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to answer every question and include all required attachments and the correct fee.  IREC cannot accept incomplete paperwork, and all incomplete paperwork will be returned to you.

If you will open a new office as a Designated Broker, the following additional items must be completed before you can be licensed. 

  1. Complete the IREC Business Conduct & Office Operations (BCOO) course within the 3 years immediately preceding your application date. Search for available courses through IREC's Public Database Search.

  2. To license a business entity or operate under a “DBA”, you must first register your entity and DBA name with the Idaho Secretary of State.

  3. Obtain E&O insurance for your business entity (not required for a sole proprietorship).

  4. At the same time you submit your Designated Broker application to IREC, you must also submit the appropriate Company application and fee: 

    1. Corporation
    2. Limited Liability Company
    3. Limited Liability Partnership
    4. Limited Partnership
    5. Partnership
    6. Sole Proprietorship
  5. Submit a Trust Account Notification form.

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to include all attachments and complete all sections of all paperwork.  Incomplete paperwork will be immediately returned to you without processing.  

If already licensed in another jurisdiction:

Idaho has no reciprocal or other license agreements with any jurisdiction. However, Idaho waives the national portion of the licensing exam, prelicense education, and broker experience requirements (if applicable) if you are licensed on active status in another state.  You may obtain the same type of license in Idaho (salesperson or broker) as you hold in your primary state of licensure, unless your primary state is a “single licensure” state (everyone holds a broker license).  If you are licensed in a “single licensure” state, you must hold a Principal or Designated Broker license to qualify for an Idaho broker license. 

  1. Order a certified license history from your primary state of licensure (typically takes 3 to 6 weeks).  Ask the agency to mail the certified license history to you.  Send the history to IREC with a completed Exam Waiver Request form to obtain a waiver of the national portion of the licensing exam.   The certified license history must show your license is on active status in order to receive a waiver. 

  2. If you are actively licensed in another state, you qualify for a waiver of the national portion of the Idaho licensing exam.  Request a certified license history from your state of licensure.  Ask for the history to be sent to you, and submit it to IREC with the Exam Waiver Request form.  Certified license histories are good for 6 months from the date of issuance.  You must take your exam waiver with you to the test center, otherwise you are required to take both portions of the exam.  No exceptions!

    1. Fingerprints can take anywhere from 1 week to 12 weeks for processing.  Read IREC’s Fingerprint Instructions -

      1. We recommend having your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, if possible.   Electronic fingerprints are processed much faster than fingerprints made on a paper card. 

      2. If you cannot have your fingerprints taken at a Pearson Vue test center, you must contact IREC to have a fingerprint packet sent to you.  Take the fingerprint card to the nearest law enforcement agency to have your fingerprints rolled.  Make sure you and the person who is taking your prints follow the fingerprint instructions exactly. 

    2. Read the Pearson VUE candidate handbook for more information on topics covered in the exam. See the approved textbook list for resources helpful in preparing for the exams. The License Law and Rules Booklet and guidelines are available on the IREC website.

    3. To be an Idaho Designated Broker, you must also take the Idaho Business Conduct and Office Operations (BCOO) course before you can be licensed.   We recommend you take this class before you take the state exam.  Go to the Public Database Search to search for available live and online BCOO courses.

  3. Register a user name and password for the IREC online services.  The online services allow you to track your own fingerprint status, license history, and education records.

  4. Your fingerprints must clear before you send in your application.  You can check your fingerprint status by logging in to the online services.  The message “RES-OK” on your fingerprint status means your prints have cleared. Contact IREC staff for assistance if you have ever had a felony or a professional license revoked.

  5. If you plan to immediately license on Active Status, arrange for Errors & Omissions insurance.  The Commission has a group policy available through Rice Insurance Services Co. at www.risceo.com , or ask your designated broker if you will be covered under a firm policy at the brokerage.  Either way, you must have E&O coverage in place before you submit your application.

  6. Read and carefully complete the Salesperson Application or Broker Application (Form REE-040 or REE-041 on the IREC website). 

  7. You must send in a certified license history from your primary state of licensure with your application.  If the history you used to obtain your exam waiver is more than 6 months old, you must obtain a new certified license history before IREC can accept your application.

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to answer every question and include all required attachments and the correct fee.  IREC cannot accept incomplete paperwork, and all incomplete paperwork will be returned to you.   

If you will open a new office as a Designated Broker, the following additional items must be completed before you can be licensed. 

  1. Complete the IREC Business Conduct & Office Operations (BCOO) course within the 3 years immediately preceding your application date.

  2. To license a business entity or operate under a “DBA”, you must first register your entity and DBA name with the Idaho Secretary of State.

  3. Obtain E&O insurance for your business entity (not required for a sole proprietorship).

  4. At the same time you submit your Designated Broker application to IREC, you must also submit the appropriate Company application and fee:

    1. Corporation
    2. Limited Liability Company
    3. Limited Liability Partnership
    4. Limited Partnership
    5. Partnership
    6. Sole Proprietorship
  5. Submit a Trust Account Notification form.

*VERY IMPORTANT*  Be sure to include all attachments and complete all sections of all paperwork.  Incomplete paperwork will be immediately returned to you without processing.

Individual License Requirement Checklist

Salesperson:

  • Salesperson Application (Form REE-040)
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • 18 years of age
  • Module 1 and Module 2 sales prelicense courses
  • Fingerprints and background check
  • Idaho and national (general) salesperson license exams
  • Errors & Omissions insurance (active status only)
  • Proof of legal presence in U.S.

Broker or Associate Broker:

  • Broker Application (Form REE-041)
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • 18 years of age
  • Minimum 90 hours of broker prelicense education
  • 2 years of active real estate sales experience in preceding 5 years
  • Fingerprints and background check
  • Idaho and national (general) broker license exams
  • Errors & Omissions insurance (active status only)
  • Proof of legal presence in U.S.

Designated Broker, add the following:

  • Business Conduct & Office Operations (BCOO) or Idaho Brokerage Management within preceding 3 years (may not be waived)
  • Relevant company license application

  • Click here for more information on licensing a business entity.

Already licensed in another state?

    You may obtain a waiver of the national portion of the licensing exam, if you hold an active status license in another jurisdiction.  Prelicense education and broker experience (if applicable) will also be waived.